Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Rosewater

Rosewater

Tade Thompson’s Rosewater is the start of an award-winning, cutting edge trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction’s most engaging new voices.

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless – people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers.

Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn’t care to again — but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realization about a horrifying future.
Read More

Nommo Award, 2017

Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy / Fiction / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure

On Sale: December 5th 2017

Price: $4.99 / $6.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 400

ISBN-13: 9780316449038

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one."—M. R. Carey
Read More Arrow Icon
"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!"Ann Leckie
Read More Arrow Icon
"Nothing short of brilliant.... A captivating, cerebral work of science fiction that may very well signal a new definitive voice in the genre."—Kirkus
Read More Arrow Icon
"A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas."—Adrian Tchaikovsky
Read More Arrow Icon
"Thompson's genius in displacing his tale of successive xenobiological attacks from the West onto the developing world is matched by his breathtakingly smart prose.... Deeply engrossing."—The Seattle Review of Books
Read More Arrow Icon
"A sharply satirical, ingenious thriller about an alien invasion that's disturbing familiar. Tade Thompson has built a fascinating world that will suck you in and keep you guessing. This book will eat you alive, and you'll like it."—Annalee Newitz
Read More Arrow Icon
"Compellingly strange yet accessible... a character-driven, morally grey tale of hope and potential redemption."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Read More Arrow Icon
"Deeply imagined characters and vibrant, startling imagery... An author to watch."—B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog
Read More Arrow Icon
"A strange and unsettling story of psychics, conspiracy, and alien invasion unlike anything I've read before. Masterfully constructed, brimming with ideas and slowly unfolding mystery, Rosewater hurt my brain in the best of ways."—Fonda Lee
Read More Arrow Icon
"Perfect for fans of William Gibson's Neuromancer, this twisty, captivating page-turner explores the fragility of the mind and how memory constructs identity."—BookPage
Read More Arrow Icon
"Inventive aliens and realistic-feeling invasion... keen observations of how easily people ignore and accept what should be terrifying... intriguing characters (many of them women) who have lives of their own beyond the pages... fascinating."—Strange Horizons
Read More Arrow Icon
"This thrilling, ambitious novel offers a deftly woven and incisive blend of science fiction, psychology, action, and mystery. Highly recommended."—Kate Elliott
Read More Arrow Icon
"One of the most imaginative alien invasion scenarios I have come across."—Aliette de Bodard, Nebula and BSFA award-winning author
Read More Arrow Icon
"A fiercely weird, breathtaking biopunk tale of alien invasion, Rosewater is ambitious and smart and very, very cool."—Tasha Suri
Read More Arrow Icon
"Quite simply one of best books I have read for quite some time."—SFCrowsnest
Read More Arrow Icon
"As strange, vivid and intricate as the alien biosphere at its heart, Rosewater is a fabulous book and Tade Thompson is a writer of enormous heart and talent. Just brilliant."—Dave Hutchinson
Read More Arrow Icon
"A masterclass in worldbuilding.... Rosewater is a brilliant read.... I've never read a sci-fi book like this, and I doubt I will again."—The Fantasy Inn
Read More Arrow Icon
"Inventive and creepy... revolutionary."Ozy
Read More Arrow Icon
"Original, entertaining, and food for thought. Tade Thompson is an exciting new voice in our field and I can't wait to read more of his work."—Pat Cadigan
Read More Arrow Icon
"Part thriller, part mystery and part phantasmagoric journey across a strange yet not-too-distant future, and reminiscent at times of both Roger Zelazny and Nnedi Okorafor, Rosewater is the hardboiled, Nigerian alien invasion story you always wanted."—Lavie Tidhar
Read More Arrow Icon

Reader Reviews

The Wormwood Trilogy