The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

Contributors

By Megan Bannen

Formats and Prices

Price

$19.99

Price

$25.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around August 23, 2022. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

"A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over. If you ever wished for an adult romance that felt like Howl's Moving Castle, THIS IS THAT BOOK." —Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient

Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the strange and magical wilds of Tanria. It’s an unforgiving job, and Hart’s got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.  

Mercy never has a moment to herself. She’s been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart, who seems to have a gift for showing up right when her patience is thinnest. 

After yet another exasperating run-in with Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to “A Friend”. Much to his surprise, an anonymous letter comes back in return, and a tentative friendship is born.  

If only Hart knew he’s been baring his soul to the person who infuriates him most—Mercy. As the dangers from Tanria grow closer, so do the unlikely correspondents. But can their blossoming romance survive the fated discovery that their pen pals are their worst nightmares—each other?

Set in a world full of magic and demigods, donuts and small-town drama, this enchantingly quirky, utterly unique fantasy is perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea and The Invisible Library.

"Truly outstanding romantic fantasy." —India Holton

"An unabashedly offbeat adventure." —Freya Marske

"I cried twice and smiled plenty." —Olivia Atwater

"A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish!" —Davinia Evans

"I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading." —Ruby Dixon

Genre:

  • "Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I've read before." 
    Lana Harper, author of Payback's a Witch
  • "With its wonderfully unique setting, lovable characters, and engaging mix of humor and spice, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a truly outstanding romantic fantasy. I loved both its kookiness and its deep authenticity. An instant favorite!" 
    India Holton, author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels
  • "The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy broke my heart, put it back together, then tucked me into bed with a forehead kiss. Packed with earnest characters, wit, action, and reluctant yearning, this is easily my favourite fantasy romance of the year." 
    Jen DeLuca, author of Well Met
  • "A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over. If you ever wished for an adult romance that felt like Howl's Moving Castle, THIS IS THAT BOOK." 
    Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient
  • "Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix!" 
    Sierra Simone, USA Today bestselling author
  • "If Lewis Carroll and Nora Ephron teamed up to write a magical Western, this would be the result. An unabashedly offbeat adventure full of dead gods and mostly dead zombies, family drama, swoon-worthy letters, and a Very Good Dog, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy oozes romantic fun lie a corpse oozes dubious fluids." 
    Freya Marske, author of A Marvellous Light
  • "Perfect for readers who love enemies-to-lovers mashed up with a touch of secret pen pal romance. I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading." 
    Ruby Dixon, author of Ice Planet Barbarians
  • "This book is a gooey (and hot!) romance immersed in a tasty layer of quirky fantasy, like some decadent chocolate treat. A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp, and entirely moreish!" 
    Davinia Evans, author of Notorious Sorcerer
  • "A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty." 
    Olivia Atwater, author of Half a Soul

On Sale
Aug 23, 2022
Page Count
448 pages
Publisher
Orbit
ISBN-13
9780316394215

Megan Bannen

Megan Bannen

About the Author

Megan Bannen is a former public librarian and an award-winning author of speculative fiction. Her work has been selected for the RUSA Reading List, the Indies Introduce list, and the Kids’ Indie Next List, along with numerous best-of-the-year compilations. While most of her professional career has been spent behind a reference desk, she has also sold luggage, written grants, collected a few graduate degrees from various Kansas universities, and taught English at home and abroad. She lives in the Kansas City area with her family and more pets than is reasonable.

Learn more about this author