We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

In this award-winning book for kids, the crocodile has a problem: he loves watermelon, but he’s afraid of what will happen if he eats one of the seeds–there’s only one way to find out!

Crocodile loves watermelon, but what will happen when his greatest fear of swallowing a watermelon seed comes to pass? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? Only one thing is certain: his wild imagination will have kids laughing out loud and begging for another read.

With perfect comic pacing, bold color and dynamic sense of design, three-time Theodor Seuss Geisel Award recipient Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut transforms this familiar childhood anxiety into a contemporary classic read-aloud perfect for fans of I Want My Hat Back.

"[A]n expert debut." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Children will love this hilarious book. The story has broad appeal, making it a great first purchase." —School Library Journal (starred review)

Don't miss these other favorite books by Greg Pizzol:

The Book Hog
Good Night Owl
Number One Sam
Templeton Gets His Wish
This Story is For You
The Twelve Days of Christmas

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

*"[A]n expert debut."
Publishers Weekly (starred review)
*"Children will love this hilarious book. The story has broad appeal, making it a great first purchase."
School Library Journal (starred review)
"A juicy premise...Pizzoli legitimizes childish anxieties but also slyly exaggerates each worry to highlight the humor."
The New York Times
"With a sharp graphic sensibility, vibrant design, and adept characterization, Pizzoli spins the simple premise into a sweet confection, ripe with broad humor."
Booklist
"The illustrations...recall the cheerful stylings of Ed Emberely and Roger Hargreaves. Deliciously bright colors...leap from the page."
Kirkus Reviews
"With a sharp graphic sensibility, vibrant design, and adept characterization, Pizzoli spins the simple premise into a sweet confection, ripe with broad humor."
Booklist Online
Read More Read Less