The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

Contributors

By Ashley Herring Blake

Formats and Prices

Price

$7.99

Price

$11.99 CAD

Format:

  1. Trade Paperback $7.99 $11.99 CAD
  2. ebook $7.99 $9.99 CAD
  3. Audiobook Download (Unabridged)

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around March 24, 2020. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnecting with her lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly.
 
When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a "New Life Plan": 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.
 
Everything seems to be racing forward, but when she meets Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. And with the reemergence of her mother, Sunny's journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James will be trickier than expected.
 
Acclaimed author, Ashley Herring Blake's sweet, tender novel will dare readers to find the might in their own hearts.

  • Praise for The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James:The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James is a moving coming of age story that is not only engaging to read but is also deeply important. Sunny is a funny, thoughtful, and wonderfully rendered character who will stay with you long after you have finished reading.
    Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author of Amal Unbound
  • "The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James will make you ache for the twelve-year-old you once were, and anxious to share this book with every pre-teen you know. I may be Ashley Herring Blake's biggest fan!"
    Shannon Hitchcock, author of One True Way and Ruby Lee & Me
  • "The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James pulls at the heart strings from the very first sentence. Part soul-crushing, part soul-fulfilling, laced in humor and unwavering hope. Readers will root for Sunny from start to finish. Ashley Herring Blake hits all the feels with this one. Love is love is Love. Surely a message we all can get on board with!"
    Tami Charles, author of Like Vanessa and Definitely Daphne
  • "In The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James, Ashley Herring Blake honors the big, messy emotions inherent in being a preteen girl. Sunny is portrayed with such deep empathy and respect that she's destined to be a treasured friend for readers. This book is a joy."
    Anne Ursu, author of The Lost Girl
  • "Sunny's bravery and buoyant spirit as she explores the truth about her family and herself will leave a lasting impression on the reader's heart."
    Barbara Dee, author of Everything I Know About You and Halfway Normal
  • * "A sweet and gentle story of self-discovery and a beautiful addition to the growing genre of middle-grade realism featuring girls who like girls."
    Kirkus Reviews, starred review
  • "A heartwarming and engaging tale that treats Sunny's emerging sexual identity with care, authenticity, and age appropriateness."
    School Library Journal, starred review
  • * "[The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James] is an accomplished, layered, moving story featuring a girl questioning her sexuality. Bighearted in every way."
    Booklist, starred review

On Sale
Mar 24, 2020
Page Count
416 pages
ISBN-13
9780316515542

Ashley Herring Blake

About the Author

Ashley Herring Blake is the author of the young adult novels Suffer Love, How to Make a Wish, and Girl Made of Stars, as well as the Stonewall honor novel Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World, The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James, and Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea. Ashley lives in Georgia with her husband and two sons.

Learn more about this author