Search Results for: photography

Showing 41-50 of 171 results

The Del Posto Cookbook

The Del Posto Cookbook

by Mark Ladner Foreword by Mario Batali
The definitive cookbook on refined Italian Cuisine by the celebrated chef at Mario Batali’s and Lidia Bastianich’s award-winning destination restaurant in New York City.

Mark Ladner, the Chef at Del Posto, redefines what excellent Italian Cooking in America can be. With a focus on regional Italian ingredients and tradition, Ladner has chosen recipes that bring together flavors from the old country, but in sophisticated new ways, like: Fried Calamari with Spicy Caper Butter Sauce; Red Wine Risotto with Carrot Puree, Monkfish Piccata, Veal Braciole, and Ricotta-Chocolate Tortino

But what is special is that these recipes will really work in the home kitchen, unlike some ambitious cookbooks like this. And given Del Posto’s origin and founders, the book includes recipes by Lidia Bastianich, and forewords by Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich.Plus, the award-winning sommelier at Del Posto offers advice on which Italian varietals to serve with what dishes. All this is complemented by photography that is inspired by 16th century still life paintings.

As the New York Times said in their review: “The food bewilders and thrills.”
The City Tavern Cookbook

The City Tavern Cookbook

Experience authentic early American culinary history at America’s first restaurant, without leaving your home!

For history buffs who like to eat, there is no better gift or souvenir of the ultimate American landmark. The City Tavern restaurant was the social, political, and economic center of late 18th-century Philadelphia. Called the “most genteel” tavern in America by John Adams, it gained fame as the gathering place for members of the Continental Congresses and the Constitutional Convention, and for officials of the early Federal Government.

With more than 300 tempting, simple-to-make recipes and full-color photography, City Tavern will help home chefs and history buffs alike recreate the same dishes enjoyed by George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and Benjamin Franklin. Featuring traditional favorites:
  • West Indies pepperpot soup
  • Roasted duckling with chutney
  • Martha Washington’s chocolate mousse cake
  • Thomas Jefferson’s sweet-potato biscuits
This book’s recipes are sure to entice adults and children alike, while simultaneously providing them with a wealth of fascinating American and culinary history!

More than just a cookbook, City Tavern is a treasury of American history.
The Camera

The Camera

Ansel Adams (1902-1984) produced some of the 20th century’s most iconic photographic images and helped nurture the art of photography through his creative innovations and peerless technical mastery.

The Camera–the first volume in Adams’ celebrated series of books on photographic techniques–has taught generations of photographers how to harness the camera’s artistic potential. This time-honored handbook distills the knowledge gained through a lifetime in photography and remains as vital today as when it was first published.

Along with visualization, image management, Adams’ famous Zone System, and other keys to photographic artistry, The Camera covers 35mm, medium-format, and large-format view cameras, while offering detailed advice on camera components such as lenses, shutters, and light meters. Beautifully illustrated with photographs as well as instructive line drawings, this classic manual belongs on every serious photographer’s bookshelf.

“Adams is a clear-thinking writer whose concepts cannot but help the serious photographer.” – New York Times

“A master-class kind of guide from an undisputed master.” – Publishers Weekly

Over 1 million copies sold.

Publisher’s Note: This ebook of The Camera works best as a digital companion to the print edition. The ebook was produced by electronically scanning and digitizing a print edition, and as a result, your reading device may display images with halftone or moiré patterns.
The Bloom Girls

The Bloom Girls

Gilmore Girls meets My Big Fat Greek Wedding in this humorous, multi-generational story about a mother and daughter who discover that life happens when you least expect it.

Gabi Bloom doesn't believe in signs. She believes in photographic evidence, the view through her camera lens, and the snap of the shutter. It's why she traveled to Europe—to satisfy her wanderlust and to kick off her photography career. But in Ireland, all of that changed when Gabi gazed into the impossibly blue eyes of an American bartender. She wasn’t prepared for their intense and immediate attraction, or the fact that she’d be bringing Ethan home with her . . . as her fiancé.

Gabi's upcoming marriage is the cherry on top of her mother's current predicament. Stumbling toward forty, Alissa is a pastry chef who raised her daughter single-handedly while Gabi’s father traveled the globe. Now her baby girl is getting married after a whirlwind romance and Alissa—well, Alissa is pregnant. Again. And not only is her ex the father, he wants her back. For good. Until she can figure out that part of the puzzle, Alissa is hiding her big little secret even as she helps Gabi plan a happily-ever-after wedding. But somewhere between disaster and hope, life might just bloom in a way that is breathtakingly unexpected . . .
The 12 Pets of Christmas

The 12 Pets of Christmas

The popular Christmas song is reimagined in this board book featuring adorable animal photos and a counting theme!

This Christmas, Santa brings you a different pet for every day of the holiday season. Featuring festive animal photography and a sing-along carol, this board book is perfect for reading, counting, and laughing with baby.
Teeth in the Mist

Teeth in the Mist

Three generations of women uncover an ancient evil in this epic genre-bending horror-fantasy — a “fearless” Faustian tale perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Ransom Riggs (Cat Winters).
Before the birth of time, a monk uncovers the Devil’s Tongue and dares to speak it. The repercussions will be felt for generations . . .
Sixteen-year-old photography enthusiast Zoey has been fascinated by the haunted, burnt-out ruins of Medwyn Mill House for as long as she can remember — so she and her best friend, Poulton, run away from home to explore them. But are they really alone in the house? And who will know if something goes wrong?
In 1851, seventeen-year-old Roan arrives at the Mill House as a ward — one of three, all with something to hide from their new guardian. When Roan learns that she is connected to an ancient secret, she must escape the house before she is trapped forever.
1583. Hermione, a new young bride, accompanies her husband to the wilds of North Wales where he plans to build the largest water mill and mansion in the area. But rumors of unholy rituals lead to a tragic occurrence and she will need all her strength to defeat it.
Three women, centuries apart, drawn together by one Unholy Pact. A pact made by a man who, more than a thousand years later, may still be watching . . .
This haunting, captivating, and “delightfully disturbing” mystery redefines horror and fantasy (Kirkus).
Take Me There

Take Me There

Part guided journal/part activity book, Take Me There inspires wanderlust and adventure through the lens of dream destinations around the world.

Get ready to embark on an interactive journey of wanderlust through locations ranging from the streets of Rio and beaches of Hawaii, to the animal kingdom of the Galágos, and many more far-flung lands. Take Me There is filled with interactive features motivated by each location: intriguing facts to set the scene, journal prompts, and areas to both draw and color along the way.
Fully illustrated with artwork and photographs throughout, Take Me There is a fun-filled exploration of far-off lands to inspire both the artistic and creative spirit.
TCM Underground

TCM Underground

Based on the Turner Classic Movies series, TCM Underground is the movie-lover's guide to 50 of the most campy, kitschy, shocking, and weirdly wonderful cult films you need to see.

In the pages of this book, you'll explore this unique order of films—primarily from the 1960s, '70s, and '80s—with insightful reviews, behind-the-scenes stories, subgenre sidebars, and full-color and black-and-white photography throughout. Go along for the ride with new takes on crime films, including The Honeymoon Killers and The Harder They Come. Witness one-of-a-kind horror in Bill Gunn's landmark vampire film Ganja and Hess and Nobuhiko Obayashi’s infamous and indescribable Hausu. Absorb the boundary-pushing documentary-style trilogy The Decline of Western Civilization, which throws you into indelible moments in the punk and metal music scenes. And marvel at pure '80s oddities like Mac and Me and The Garbage Pail Kids.

From Possession to Polyester and Beyond the Valley of the Dolls to Xanadu, no two films are alike in this compendium. Just sit back and prepare to be surprised, amused, and entertained by this celebration of the stars, filmmakers, and stories behind fifty of the most beguiling and unforgettable movies ever to hit the screen.
Filter by +
  • New Releases
  • Coming Soon
  • Baby Elements
  • Butternut Creek
  • Celebrate the Season
  • Mammoth
  • Mammoth Books
  • Miniature Editions
  • RP Minis
  • Turner Classic Movies
  • Children's Books
  • Cooking
  • Fiction
  • Mind, Body, Spirit
  • Mystery & Thriller
  • Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Sci-Fi & Fantasy
  • Teen & Young Adult
  • Travel