25% OFF & FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $35! Use Code: THANKFUL

Old Country

Regular Price $17.99

Regular Price $22.99 CAD

Regular Price $17.99

Regular Price $22.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around March 7, 2023. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

Also Available From:

Buy Now:

On Sale

Mar 7, 2023

Page Count

352 Pages

ISBN-13

9781538721193

Genre

Fiction / Fiction / Horror

Description

Based on the Reddit sensation, a horror thriller of a young couple who buys the perfect, secluded house—only to discover the terror within.
 
It’s the house of their dreams. Former marine Harry and his wife, Sasha, have packed up their life and their golden retriever, Dash, and fled the corporate rat race to live off the land in rural Idaho. Their breathtaking new home sits on more than forty acres of meadow, aspen trees, and pine forest in the Teton Valley. Even if their friends and family think it’s a strange choice for an up-and-coming pair of urban professionals, Harry and Sasha couldn’t be happier about the future they’re building, all by their lonesome.

That is, until their nearest neighbors, Dan and Lucy Steiner, come bearing more than housewarming gifts. Dan and Lucy warn Harry and Sasha of a malevolent spirit that lives in the valley, one that with every season will haunt them in fresh, ever-more-diabolical ways. At first, it seems like an old wives’ tale. But when spring arrives, so does the first evil manifestation, challenging everything Harry and Sasha thought they knew about the world.

As each season passes, the spirit grows stronger, the land more sinister, and each encounter more dangerous. Will Harry and Sasha learn the true meaning of a forever home before it’s too late? Haunting and bone-chilling, Old Country is a spellbinding debut in the horror genre.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

"Action-packed horror... Fans of Stephen King and Paul Tremblay will find this a satisfying escape into the woods."—Kirkus Reviews
“This is classic supernatural horror, made freshly compelling with believable characters and perfect pacing, and almost impossible to put down.”—The Guardian
“An artful chiller. OLD COUNTRY stirs up our primal dread of a hostile wilderness, indifferent to man, that‘s reminiscent of such great works as Algernon Blackwood‘s THE WENDIGO."—Lincoln Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author
"What started as the spookiest of tales on Reddit--I should know, as I love them--sparked a tour-de-force of a novel that perfectly renders the tensions of living in isolation and the unforgiving passage of the seasons of the natural world. On top of that, OLD COUNTRY delivers an unyielding sense of dread and suspense. I can’t wait for more from the Query brothers."—Thomas Olde Heuvelt, author of HEX and ECHO
"Propulsive. The Querys nicely work the worldbuilding into the action [and] when the horror elements hit, they hit hard. Fans of Joe Hill and Paul Tremblay will want to check this out."—Publishers Weekly
“An extraordinarily assured debut: uncanny yet real, both lyrical and brutal, rich with truth about life and death.”—Michael Rutger, author of THE ANOMALY
"If you like haunted-house horror stories, this novel by Matt Query & Harrison Query is for you."—LifeSavvy
"In their debut novel, the Querys ramp up the mysterious and the psychological, in this well-written first novel."—Red Carpet Crash
Read More Read Less