Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Code Girls

Code Girls

The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition)

In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II.

More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation’s capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking.

Through their work, the “code girls” helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story–until now.

Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.
Read More

Genre: Children's Books / Juvenile Nonfiction / Adventure & Adventurers

On Sale: October 2nd 2018

Price: $9.99 / $12.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 336

ISBN-13: 9780316353748

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

Praise for Code Girls: Young Readers Edition:

"The book reads like a movie script, with interesting characters and non-stop action bringing to life the history these women were making and living...excellent."—School Library Connection
Read More Arrow Icon
"Mundy highlights the lives of the many brilliant women who secretly served the code breaking mission against Nazi Germany and Imperial Japan.... A solid resource for younger researchers."—School Library Journal
Read More Arrow Icon
"an entertaining presentation on a fascinating topic"
Kirkus Reviews
Read More Arrow Icon