Color the Sky

Contributors

By David Elliott

Illustrated by Evan Turk

Formats and Prices

Price

$17.99

Price

$22.99 CAD

Format

Hardcover

Format:

Hardcover $17.99 $22.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around February 8, 2022. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

From award-winning author David Elliott and Ezra Jack Keats Award-winning illustrator Evan Turk comes a vibrant celebration of color, birds, and birdsong—perfect for fans of Eric Carle or Chris Raschka.

Red, big / red, small / Red sits on my garden wall. / Blue, low / blue, high / Blue has taken to the sky….

This tender and stirring read aloud uses the beauty of birds to invite readers to observe primary and secondary colors. With lyrical rhyme and striking pastel artwork by rising star-illustrator Evan Turk, Color the Sky masterfully captures childlike curiosity, wonder, and joy. Not only does it beckon readers to answer the call of exploring the outdoors, it encourages children to embrace the differences within themselves and the world around them.

  • “A visually interesting concept book, full of wonder and lightsomeness, that’s useful for teaching young ones about colors.”
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "An upbeat look at avian colors and the joy of being alive....A good spring story hour choice."
    Booklist
  • "Via rhyming lines and many-hued lines and textures, the creators show how attention to the natural world can offer endless change and variation."
    Publishers Weekly

On Sale
Feb 8, 2022
Page Count
40 pages
ISBN-13
9780316212076

David Elliott

About the Author

David Elliott was born in Ohio and has published more than twenty-five books for young people. He received a BA in anthropology and an MA in international administration, and he also attended New England Conservatory where he studied classical voice. Currently, David lives in New Hampshire with is his wife.

Evan Turk is an award-winning illustrator, author and animator. His work has been featured in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post,The Chicago Tribune, and NPR. He lives with his husband in California.

Learn more about this author