Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A-List Angels

A-List Angels

How a Band of Actors, Artists, and Athletes Hacked Silicon Valley

Combining high-octane storytelling with landmark financial reporting in the tradition of Michael Lewis, Zack O’Malley Greenburg delivers a transformative account of how Hollywood cashed in on the latest tech boom while bringing a blast of creativity and diversity to Silicon Valley.

How much is celebrity really worth? In a growing trend, Hollywood’s biggest stars from Ashton Kutcher to Beyoncé have set out to turn their fame into bankable capital by tossing out traditional endorsement deals in favor of strategic partnerships that grant them a stake in today’s top companies. Ushered in by 50 Cent’s deal with Vitamin Water — in which the rapper took equity instead of cash, eventually walking away with a nine-figure haul — celebrities of all different colors, genders, and talents have learned to capitalize on the invaluable benefits of their platform and visibility.

The ever-evolving, mutually beneficial relationship between Hollywood and Silicon Valley has led to everything from laughable flops and billion-dollar profits to rock star CEOs and paparazzi-worthy boards of directors. Through extensive reporting and exclusive interviews with stars like Shaq, Nas, Sophia Bush, and Steve Aoki, Forbes senior editor Zack O’Malley Greenburg takes an up-close-and-personal look at the rise of celebrity investors and their impact on companies including AirBnB, Spotify, and Uber.

A-List Angels is a book about business that reads like a thriller: entertaining, edifying, and not to be missed.
Read More

Genre: Nonfiction / Business & Economics / Entrepreneurship

On Sale: March 10th 2020

Price: $14.99 / $18.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 288

ISBN-13: 9780316485111

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"An inspirational tale of the unlikely bunch that not only cracked the code for startup investing, but also brought a much-needed infusion of diversity to Silicon Valley. It's an essential read."—Arianna Huffington
"Another one! Zack's latest book has the keys to securing the bag on the highest level-it's not about cash, it's about getting that equity."—DJ Khaled
"Exciting, well-researched chronicle of how a group of actors, athletes and artists have emerged as mega-successful venture capitalists. Their stories underscore the inspiring truth that great entrepreneurs can emerge from the most unlikely backgrounds ... an un-putdown-able masterpiece."—Steve Forbes
Read More Read Less