Clementine and the Spring Trip

Contributors

By Sara Pennypacker

Illustrated by Marla Frazee

Formats and Prices

Price

$5.99

Price

$7.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around March 5, 2013. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

This delightful New York Times bestselling chapter book series, from the award-winning author of Pax, is a modern classic that has been keeping readers engaged and laughing as they follow the hijinks of Clementine, a clever and quirky third grader who’s the most spectacular friend around. Perfect for fans of Amelia Bedelia and Ivy + Bean!

For Clementine, Spring is a really big deal.

Spring is for seeing her apple tree start to grow, for watching her friend Margaret go crazy with cleaning, and for going on school trips, like this year's trip to Plymouth Plantation. Clementine is ready for Ye Olden Times, but she isn't so sure about surviving lunch there—the fourth graders have strict rules about no eating sounds. If that wasn't enough, Clementine also faces the challenges of learning Olive-language and surviving The Cloud on Bus 7.

Hearing the pilgrim lady talk about why she made the long journey from England makes Clementine think about rules. Who makes them, and what do they mean to the people who have to live with them? Clementine will have to decide which rules are made to be broken.


READ MORE!
Clementine 
The Talented Clementine
Clementine’s Letter
Clementine, Friend of the Week
Clementine and the Family Meeting
Completely Clementine
 

  • Praise for the Clementine series:
    New York Times Bestseller
    Winner of 2008 Rhode Island Children's Book Award
    Winner of 2008 William Allen White Children's Book Award
    Winner of the 2007 Boston Globe/Horn Book Honor
    Winner of 2008 Great Lakes Great Books Award
    Winner of the 2007 Josette Frank Book Award
    Winner of the 2007 Sid Fleishman Award
    A 2006 School Library Journal Best Book of Year
    A 2006 Child Magazine Best Book of Year
    A 2006 Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
    A 2006 National Parenting Publication Gold Award Winner
    A 2006 Nick Jr. Family Magazine's Best Book of the Year
    A 2006 Miami Herald Best Book of the Year

    *"A delightful addition to any beginning chapter-book collection."
    —School Library Journal, starred review

    *"Along with humorous bits, Pennypacker seamlessly weaves into the narrative common third-grade themes...Fans of Judy Moody will welcome this portrait of another funny, independent third-grader."
    —Publishers Weekly, starred review

    *"Middle-grade readers will sympathize with Clementine's conflicted feelings about her friend and her family, and laugh out loud at her impulsive antics, narrated in a fresh first-person voice and illustrated with plenty of humor. Give this to readers of Cleary and Blume and cross your fingers for more."
    —Kirkus Reviews, starred review
     

On Sale
Mar 5, 2013
Page Count
160 pages
ISBN-13
9781423198611

Sara Pennypacker

About the Author

Sara Pennypacker is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Pax, the Clementine series and its spinoff series, Waylon, and the acclaimed novels Summer of the Gypsy Moths and Here in the Real World. She divides her time between Cape Cod, Massachusetts, and Florida. She invites you to visit her online at sarapennypacker.com.

Learn more about this author

Marla Frazee

About the Illustrator

Marla Frazee is a two-time Caldecott Honor winner and the recipient of a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Best Picture Book. She has illustrated many acclaimed picture books, including All the World by Liz Garton Scanlon, Stars by Mary Lyn Ray, and Everywhere Babies by Susan Meyers, as well as her own Farmer Books trilogy, A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever, and The Boss Baby, which inspired the DreamWorks Animation film. She is also the illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Clementine chapter books by Sara Pennypacker. The mother of three grown sons, she lives in Pasadena, California. She invites you to visit her at MarlaFrazee.com.

Learn more about this illustrator