A woman's desire for revenge draws her deeper into a treacherous imperial court in this second sweeping and richly-detailed book of an East Asian-inspired epic fantasy series.

"Intricate, elegant and sharp as a blade―The Throne of the Five Winds is sweeping political fantasy at its finest." ―Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand
 
The crown princess has been assassinated, reigniting tensions between her native Khir and the great Zhaon empire. Now her lady-in-waiting, Komor Yala, is alone in a foreign court, a pawn for imperial schemes.

To survive and avenge her princess, Yala will have to rely on unlikely allies like the sly Third Prince and the war-hardened general who sacked her homeland. But as the Emperor lies upon his deathbed, the palace is more dangerous than ever before―for there are six princes and only one throne.

The drums of war beat again in this epic tale of ambition, honor, and sacrifice, perfect for fans of The Tiger's Daughter and The Grace of Kings. 

Praise for the Hostage of Empire series:

"With a deliberate pace and fine attention to details of dress and custom, Emmett weaves a masterful tale of court intrigues." ―Booklist (starred review)

"Emmett’s worldbuilding is sophisticated and captivating." ―Publishers Weekly 

"Action and intrigue takes place within a layered and beautifully realized fantasy world that will appeal to readers of K. Arsenault Rivera's The Tiger's Daughter."―B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog

Hostage of Empire
The Throne of the Five Winds
The Poison Prince

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"Intricate, elegant and sharp as a blade -- The Throne of the Five Winds is sweeping political fantasy at its finest."—Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand on Throne of the Five Winds
"With a deliberate pace and fine attention to details of dress and custom, Emmett weaves a masterful tale of court intrigues."—Booklist (starred review) on Throne of the Five Winds
"Brimful of thrilling palace drama and menacing court intrigue."—Kate Elliott, author of Black Wolves on Throne of the Five Winds
"Action and intrigue takes place within a layered and beautifully realized fantasy world that will appeal to readers of Evan Winter's The Rage of Dragons and K. Arsenault Rivera's The Tiger's Daughter."—B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog on Throne of the Five Winds
Read More Read Less