Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dear Universe

Dear Universe

A wildly witty and deeply profound chronicle of teenage anxiety and yearning, perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews and Robyn Schneider.

It’s senior year, and Chamomile Myles has whiplash from traveling between her two universes: school (the relentless countdown to prom, torturous college applications, and the mindless march toward an uncertain future) and home, where she wrestles a slow, bitter battle with her friend’s terminal illness, Enter Brendan, a man-bun-and tutu-wearing hospital volunteer with a penchant for absurdity, who strides boldly between her worlds–and helps her open up a new road between the,

Dear Universe is the dazzling follow-up to Florence Gonsalves’s debut, Love and Other Carnivorous Plants, hailed by School Library Journal as “a must-have sharp, powerful, and witty immersion into the complexities of . . . mental health.”
Read More

Genre: Teen & Young Adult / Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Dating & Sex

On Sale: May 12th 2020

Price: $9.99 / $12.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 352

ISBN-13: 9780316436748

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

Praise for Love & Other Carnivorous Plants:
Booklist Editors' Choice: Books for Youth 2018
A 2019 Rainbow Book List Selection

*"A pitch-perfect take on what happens when the future you imagined doesn't live up to expectations.... This genuinely funny novel about some harrowing topics manages to balance humor and pathos perfectly. Readers who connected with J.J. Johnson's Believarexic or Sam J. Miller's The Art of Starving will want this book, as well as the many John Green fans who crave intelligent stories that occupy both shadow and light." --Booklist, starred review

"Fans of Sarah Dessen will appreciate Danny's relatable and realistic journey. A must-have sharp, powerful, and witty immersion into the complexities of sexual identity and mental health." --School Library Journal

"Gonsalves juggles multiple serious adolescent challenges with operatic verve--eating disorders, substance abuse, sexual awakening and orientation, mental health, grief.... A feel-good debut sure to interest teens looking to feel better about not feeling so great." --Kirkus

"Gonsalves realistically conveys Danny's wide range of emotions.... Her most profound realization comes through accepting that she can live her life on her own terms and that she need not have it all figured out quite yet." --Publishers Weekly

"Self-deprecating, witty.... As funny as it is painful." --VOYA

"A hilarious, thoughtful novel of trying to figure out loving other people when it hurts, and loving yourself when it's impossible." --Teenreads.com

"Will appeal to students who deal with anxiety and the pressures of life that many teens face." --School Library Connection
Read More Read Less