Hachette Book Group’s privacy policy has been updated effective September 28, 2017. You can read the updated policy here. You can also email any questions to HBG-Privacy@hbgusa.com.

We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer here. By continuing to use the site without changing settings, you consent to our use of cookies.

Soul of the World

Soul of the World

Three lines of magic must be conquered and three heroes must rise in the first book of this epic fantasy trilogy.

It is a time of revolution. In the cities, food shortages stir citizens to riots against the crown. In the wilds, new magic threatens the dominance of the tribes. and on the battlefields, even the most brilliant commanders struggle in the shadow of total war. Three lines of magic must be mastered in order to usher in a new age, and three heroes must emerge.

Sarine is an artist on the streets of New Sarresant whose secret familiar helps her uncover bloodlust and madness where she expected only revolutionary fervor.

Arak’Jur wields the power of beasts to keep his people safe, but his strength cannot protect them from war amongst themselves.

Erris is a brilliant cavalry officer trying to defend New Sarresant from an enemy general armed with magic she barely understands.

Each must learn the secrets of their power in time to guide their people through ruin. But a greater evil may be trying to stop them.

Start reading this gripping, vibrant, and imaginative addition to the epic fantasy canon for readers of Brandon Sanderson, Brian McClellan, and Miles Cameron.
Read More

Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy / Fiction / Fantasy / Epic

On Sale: June 27th 2017

Price: $4.99

Page Count: 656

ISBN-13: 9780316552165

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

"The first book in The Ascension Cycle is an impressive fantasy debut with three main compelling characters and a unique magic system sure to capture a fantasy reader's attention . . . . Mealing does a fabulous job with the intricate world-building and leaves the reader wanting to get their hands on the sequel."—RT Book Reviews
"Imaginative and elaborate epic fantasy debut . . . Strong characters and rich worldbuilding."

Publishers Weekly
"A story of magic, ambition, greed, betrayal, and war."—Booklist
"I was blown away by how much I enjoyed it . . . . Soul of the World is a magical book, almost overflowing with originality."—The Quill to Live
"A riveting debut. It's got everything I could possibly want in a fantasy book."
Powder & Page Book Reviews
"The magic systems in this book are epic and the comparison to Sanderson and Rothfuss is quite deserved."—On Starships and Dragonwings Book Reviews

The Ascension Cycle