Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert.

Dove “Birdie” Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she’s on track to finish high school at the top of her class. But then Birdie falls hard for Booker, a sweet boy with a troubled past…whom she knows her parents will never approve of.

When her estranged aunt Carlene returns to Chicago and moves into the family’s apartment above their hair salon, Birdie notices the tension building at home. Carlene is sweet, friendly, and open-minded–she’s also spent decades in and out of treatment facilities for addiction. As Birdie becomes closer to both Booker and Carlene, she yearns to spread her wings. But when long-buried secrets rise to the surface, everything she’s known to be true is turned upside down.

Read More

Genre: Teen & Young Adult / Young Adult Fiction / Family / Blended Families

On Sale: August 20th 2019

Price: $17.99 / $23.49 (CAD)

Page Count: 288

ISBN-13: 9780316448567

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

Praise for Little & Lion:
"Little and Lion is beautifully insightful, honest, and compassionate. Brandy's ability to find larger meaning in small moments is nothing short of dazzling."
National Book Award Finalist and #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything Everything, Nicola Yoon
Read More Arrow Icon
"Brandy Colbert further establishes herself as one of contemporary YA's biggest talents in this thoughtful and thought-provoking examination of identity, loyalty, and what it means to live with integrity. Little & Lion is a stunningly good novel."
Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken
Read More Arrow Icon
"Brandy Colbert takes us on an emotional and gorgeous journey with a protagonist who is trying to figure out where she fits in with her family as well as in the world. A book full of overwhelming love and courage."—Sara Farizan, author of Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel
Read More Arrow Icon
* "This superbly written novel teems with meaningful depth, which is perfectly balanced by romance and the languorous freedom of summer."—Booklist, starred review
Read More Arrow Icon
* "A moving, diverse exploration of the challenges of growing up and the complicated nature of loyalty."—School Library Journal, starred review
Read More Arrow Icon
* "Colbert sensitively confronts misconceptions about mental illness, bisexuality, and intersectional identity.... A vibrantly depicted Los Angeles."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Read More Arrow Icon
* "From the threads of love and romance, to redefining family life, readers of all walks of life will find an entry point to this title."—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review
Read More Arrow Icon
"A moving and well-realized examination of secrecy, trust, and intimacy."—Publishers Weekly
Read More Arrow Icon
" Hand [Little & Lion] to readers who like thoughtful, edgy stories with no easy answers."—VOYA
Read More Arrow Icon
"With compelling honesty, Colbert portrays Suzette's evolving understanding of her sexuality, Lionel's longing for self-sufficiency alongside the challenges of his mental illness, and the difficulty of shifting familial relationships."—Horn Book
Read More Arrow Icon