Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Fighting for Space

Fighting for Space

Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube’s “Vintage Space” Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.

A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives’ Club, Fighting for Space is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb–two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space, but along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars.

Fighting for Space is a dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time.



Read More

Genre: Nonfiction / Biography & Autobiography / Adventurers & Explorers

On Sale: February 18th 2020

Price: $15.99 / $19.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 432

ISBN-13: 9781538716038

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews