When a Crocodile Eats the Sun

A Memoir of Africa
By Peter Godwin (Trade Paperback, 2008)
Hailed by reviewers as "powerful," "haunting" and "a tour de force of personal journalism," When A Crocodile Eats the Sun is the unforgettable story of one man's struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe's spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family's steady collapse. This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

"In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father's illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe's descent into tyranny. His parent's waning and the country's deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other" -- Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon

"A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel." -Kurt Anderson, author of Heydey
  • Little, Brown and Company
    • Format: Trade Paperback

    • Price: $15.99 US/$17.50 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316018715

    • On Sale Date: 04/10/2008

    • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

    Formats Available: Trade Paperback, Electronic Book

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

Hailed by reviewers as "powerful," "haunting" and "a tour de force of personal journalism," When A Crocodile Eats the Sun is the unforgettable story of one man's struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe's spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family's steady collapse. This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

"In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father's illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe's descent into tyranny. His parent's waning and the country's deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other" -- Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon

"A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel." -Kurt Anderson, author of Heydey

Peter Godwin is an award winning author, journalist and film-maker. Born and raised in Zimbabwe, he studied at Cambridge and Ovford and became a foreign correspondent for the Sunday Times of London and BBC TV. Since moving to the US, he has written for National Geographic, the New York Times Magazine and Newsweek.
  • "This saga about one family's struggle in a Zimbabwe spinning apart under dictator Robert Mugabe melds political and personal history into a compelling whole." -People (People).

  • "Godwin has meticulously recorded his outraged, torchlit impressions in this remarkable memoir." (Time).

  • "Touching and powerful." (Esquire).

  • "A powerful narrative of grief and desperation, both personal and national." (The New Yorker).

  • "Godwin's potent story has the pull and the pugnacity of an expert fiction, seamlessly blending the personal with the political in a gripping and timely narrative." (Elle).

  • "A haunting memoir of Zimbabwe, and a lesson for the rest of us. . . . A book that serves as both a stark chronicle of the devastation wreaked by President Mugabe and the pain of a son trying to care for his aging parents." (Newsweek).

  • (Publishers Weekly).

Formats

Product Details

When a Crocodile Eats the Sun
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Price: $15.99 US/$17.50 CAN
  • Pages: 368
  • Physical Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • Audio Run Time: 0
  • ISBN-13: 9780316018715
  • On Sale Date: 04/10/2008
When a Crocodile Eats the Sun