Robert Ludlum's(TM) The Ares Decision

By Kyle Mills (Mass Market, 2012)
With U.S. intelligence agencies wracked by internal power struggles and paralyzed by bureaucracy, the President was forced to establish his own clandestine group--Covert-One. It is only activated as a last resort, when the threat is on a global scale and time is running out.

In northern Uganda, an American special forces team is decimated by a group of normally peaceful farmers. Video of the attack shows even women and children possessing almost supernatural speed and strength, consumed with a rage that makes them immune to pain, fear, and all but the most devastating injuries.

Covert-One's top operative, army microbiologist Colonel Jon Smith, is sent to investigate the attack and finds evidence of a parasitic infection that for centuries has been causing violent insanity and then going dormant. This time, though, it's different. The parasite had been purposely kept alive and crudely transmitted in acts of terrorism. Now the director of Iranian Intelligence is in Uganda trying to obtain this biological weapon to unleash it on the West.

Smith and his team are ambushed and cut off from all outside support just as they begin to suspect that forces much more powerful than the Iranians are in play--forces that can be traced to Washington itself.

  • Grand Central Publishing
    • Format: Mass Market

    • Price: $7.99 US/$8.99 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780446618786

    • On Sale Date: 08/28/2012

    • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

    • Imprint: Grand Central Publishing

    Formats Available: Mass Market, Audiobook, Electronic Book, Audiobook

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

With U.S. intelligence agencies wracked by internal power struggles and paralyzed by bureaucracy, the President was forced to establish his own clandestine group--Covert-One. It is only activated as a last resort, when the threat is on a global scale and time is running out.

In northern Uganda, an American special forces team is decimated by a group of normally peaceful farmers. Video of the attack shows even women and children possessing almost supernatural speed and strength, consumed with a rage that makes them immune to pain, fear, and all but the most devastating injuries.

Covert-One's top operative, army microbiologist Colonel Jon Smith, is sent to investigate the attack and finds evidence of a parasitic infection that for centuries has been causing violent insanity and then going dormant. This time, though, it's different. The parasite had been purposely kept alive and crudely transmitted in acts of terrorism. Now the director of Iranian Intelligence is in Uganda trying to obtain this biological weapon to unleash it on the West.

Smith and his team are ambushed and cut off from all outside support just as they begin to suspect that forces much more powerful than the Iranians are in play--forces that can be traced to Washington itself.

ROBERT LUDLUM was the author of twenty-seven novels, each one a New York Times bestseller. There are more than 225 million of his books in print, and they have been translated into thirty-two languages. He is the author of The Scarlatti Inheritance, The Chancellor Manuscript, and the Jason Bourne series--The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, and The Bourne Ultimatum--among others. Mr. Ludlum passed away in March 2001. To learn more, visit www.Robert-Ludlum.com.

KYLE MILLS is a New York Times bestselling author of over 10 novels including Rising Phoenix and Lords of Corruption. He lives with his wife in Jackson Hole, Wyoming where they spend their off-hours skiing, rock climbing, and mountain biking.


  • Robert Ludlum's(TM) The Ares Decision

  • "Fast-paced and action-filled, with iconic characters and contemporary themes, the story is a stand-alone-worthy entry in the Covert-One series....Fans of Ludlum and Mills thrillers will find The Ares Decision right on target." (The Free-Lance Star).

  • "Filled with action, intrigue, and a plot that places the team in a spot they may never survive." (The Oklahoman).

  • "A tight and tense pageturner...Mills is a fine writer of his action-centered thrillers in his own right, and he makes an inspired choice to continue the Ludlum-based series. This eighth Covert One novel is one of the best...Fans of the Ludlum style will have nothing but praise for this one." (Booklist).

Product Details

Robert Ludlum's(TM) The Ares Decision
  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
  • Price: $7.99 US/$8.99 CAN
  • Pages: 544
  • Physical Dimensions: 4-3/16" x 6-3/4"
  • Audio Run Time: 0
  • ISBN-13: 9780446618786
  • On Sale Date: 08/28/2012
Robert Ludlum's(TM) The Ares Decision