Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group’s updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Blessings

The Blessings

“Bursting with wise observations.”
-J. Courtney Sullivan, author of The Engagements and Maine

“Gleams like a jewel.”
-The Philadelphia Inquirer

“Stunning. . . Unique and unforgettable.”
Glamour

Hailed by Stewart O’Nan as “deft and tender” and as one of the best books of 2014 by the Philadelphia Inquirer, Elise Juska’s THE BLESSINGS is an extraordinary novel about an ordinary family. The Blessings rally around one another in times of celebration and those of sorrow, coming together for departures and arrivals, while its members harbor private struggles and moments of personal joy. College student Abby ponders homesickness in her first semester away from her Philadelphia home, while her cousin Stephen commits a petty act of violence that takes a surprising turn, and their aunt Lauren faces a crisis in her storybook marriage she could never have foreseen. Through the lens of one unforgettable family, this beautifully moving novel explores how our families define us and how we shape them in return.
Read More

Genre: Fiction / Fiction / Contemporary Women

On Sale: May 26th 2015

Price: $15 / $17 (CDN)

Page Count: 288

ISBN-13: 9781455574025

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

"#1 . . . A stunning wide-angle snapshot of the Blessing family of Northeast Philadelphia. . . They could be any family-and yet, in Juska's capable hands, they're unique and unforgettable."—Glamour, "The 10 Best Books to Add to Your Summer Reading List Right This Second"
Read More Arrow Icon
"[A] bighearted novel. . . . Juska's moving, multifaceted portrait of the Blessing family gleams like a jewel."—Philadelphia Inquirer
Read More Arrow Icon
"Takes us into the heart of one of Philadelphia's large Irish-Catholic families . . . the storytelling is confident and Juska writes movingly about the emotional life of individuals within a close social unit."—The Toronto Star
Read More Arrow Icon
"I loved this book. . . . At its core, "The Blessings" is ultimately about family: the people you are tied to by blood and birth, the people you celebrate your victories with and who support you during times of sorrow, the people who will always be there for you no matter what. This is a beautifully complex and thoughtful novel that is perfect for summer reading, whether you're on the beach or lying in a hammock."— The Times Leader
Read More Arrow Icon
"Beautifully crafted. . . Juska draws the characters so fully, with thoughts and feelings so real, the reader can't help but become emotionally invested."—All You
Read More Arrow Icon
"Several generations of the Blessings, a Philadelphia-based, Irish-American family, come beautifully to life in a deceptively simple tale that examines the foibles, disappointments and passions that tie family members together. . . The author brings a depth of understanding to the human condition, including in her descriptions of Abby's cousin Stephen, on the road to becoming a ne'er-do-well; her uncle Patrick, a successful eye doctor, contemplating infidelity; and Meghan coming to terms with her eating disorder . . . Despite these challenges, the Blessings rally round each other-whether that attention is wanted or not-and the reader leaves feeling lucky to have spent some time in their presence."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Read More Arrow Icon
"Fans of writers like Anne Tyler, Alice McDermott and even Richard Yates will revel in Juska's resplendent novel detailing two decades in the life of the Blessing clan."—BookReporter.com
Read More Arrow Icon
"With a keen eye for detail and character, Juska shows us that, Tolstoy notwithstanding, a happy family can be happy in its own way and make for great storytelling... An exquisite portrait of a large family."—Shelf Awareness
Read More Arrow Icon
"Throughout the novel, right up until the affecting final scene, Juska explores the paradox of family-how it is the thing that both stifles and sustains you, how it can be simultaneously predictable and unexpected, stable and fragile... the result is the best kind of family portrait-one in which you know each member's foibles and flaws and yet love them anyway."—BookBrowse, Editor's Choice
Read More Arrow Icon
"It takes a writer with voice and depth to tell the story of a large Irish Catholic family's travails and make it feel fresh. Elise Juska succeeds with this novel set in Northeast Philly."—Philadelphia Magazine
Read More Arrow Icon
"Juska explores the collective experiences, traditions and loyalties of a close-knit family . . . a multilayered, sympathetic account of its members' lives."—Kirkus Reviews
Read More Arrow Icon
"This heartfelt tribute to the ups and downs of a large, devoted family is warm, uplifting, and recommended for readers from families of all sizes."—Booklist
Read More Arrow Icon
"We are in good hands with award-winning short story author Juska. She is a shrewd observer of human nature and has an outstanding ability to bring her characters to life on the page . . . this wonderfully readable work about family life will have you eagerly turning pages."—Library Journal
Read More Arrow Icon
"Juska's emotionally resonant storytelling will stay with you long after turning the last page."—Irish America
Read More Arrow Icon
"It is the ordinary details that define the Blessings. The pickles wrapped in ham, well-worn seats in front of the TV, Mass at St. Bonaventure's and casserole dishes provide a predictable backdrop to the unexpected-making the unexpected that much sharper."—Portland Press Herald
Read More Arrow Icon
"This family can feel so real, the prose almost aches."—Philadelphia City Paper
Read More Arrow Icon
"The Blessings are a family so real in all their sorrow, joy and complexity that they could be yours or mine. Juska's portrait of this close-knit clan is bursting with wise observations about the nature of love and belonging. I enjoyed every page."—J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times-bestselling author of The Engagements and Maine
Read More Arrow Icon
"In the tradition of Elizabeth Berg's and Alice McDermott's work, The Blessings is a knowing portrait of a sprawling Irish-American family in Philly across the last thirty years, in all their shared strength and separate weaknesses. Elise Juska is deft and tender, letting us get close to her characters in their most vulnerable moments. The ties that bind are never simple, and often painful, but as one daughter acknowledges, 'these are the hidden intimacies, the private exchanges, on which she builds her life.'"—Stewart O'Nan, author of Songs for the Missing and Emily, Alone
Read More Arrow Icon
"In this absorbing novel, Elise Juska moves effortlessly among family members and across decades, covering tragedy and triumph, love and loyalty. I adored everything about this book and raced to finish it, only to turn the last page and long for more time with this large, complicated, close-knit family."—Jennifer Close, author of Girls in White Dresses and The Smart One
Read More Arrow Icon
"Elise Juska, with a sharp and generous eye, charts the duality of family life in her novel-in-stories, The Blessings. Juska's characters, in their all-too-real efforts at self-discovery, remain home or travel the world, dabble with temptation or stay committed, reveal secrets or keep them; the one constant is their shared blood and history. Each exquisitely layered story builds on top of the other, leaving the reader with a lasting portrait of what it means to be a part of a family in today's fractured world."—Siobhan Fallon, author of You Know When the Men Are Gone
Read More Arrow Icon
"Elise Juska is so good at describing people, places, and moments that you not only picture them, you feel them."—Curtis Sittenfeld
Read More Arrow Icon