LB Kids

Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle

By Major Brian Dennis, Mary Nethery, Kirby Larson (Hardcover Book, 2009)
Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs's life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis. The two formed a fast friendship, made stronger by Dennis's willingness to share his meals, offer a warm place to sleep, and give Nubs the kind of care and attention he had never received before. Nubs became part of Dennis's human "pack" until duty required the Marines to relocate a full 70 miles away--without him. Nubs had no way of knowing that Marines were not allowed to have pets.

So began an incredible journey that would take Nubs through a freezing desert, filled with danger tofind his friend and would lead Dennis on a mission that would touch the hearts of people all over the world.

Nubs and Dennis will remind readers that friendship has the power to cross deserts, continents, and even species.
  • Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
    • Format: Hardcover Book

    • Price: $18.00 US/$20.00 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316053181

    • On Sale Date: 11/01/2009

    • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

    Formats Available: Hardcover Book, Audiobook, Electronic Book

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs's life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis. The two formed a fast friendship, made stronger by Dennis's willingness to share his meals, offer a warm place to sleep, and give Nubs the kind of care and attention he had never received before. Nubs became part of Dennis's human "pack" until duty required the Marines to relocate a full 70 miles away--without him. Nubs had no way of knowing that Marines were not allowed to have pets.

So began an incredible journey that would take Nubs through a freezing desert, filled with danger tofind his friend and would lead Dennis on a mission that would touch the hearts of people all over the world.

Nubs and Dennis will remind readers that friendship has the power to cross deserts, continents, and even species.

Brian Dennis is the major in the Marines. He and Nubs live in San Diego.

Kirby Larson is the acclaimed author of the 2007 Newbery Honor book, Hattie Big Sky. Her most recent title is Two Bobbies: A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship and Survival, co-written with Mary Nethery. Kirby lives in Kenmore, Washington.

Mary Nethery is the author of many picture books, including Hannah and Jack, Mary Veronica's Egg, and Orange Cat Goes to Market. Mary lives in Eureka, California.
  • -A New York Times bestseller
    -2009 NAPPA Gold Award Winner
    -A Christopher Award winner ("Books for Young People" category)
    -An Indie Bestseller List pick

    "The gritty, low-res shots of the two companions against the bleak Iraqi horizon are married with text so gracefully that many of the compositions could be book jackets." -Booklist (starred review)

    "This story presents a view of the Iraq war that makes it accessible to very young gradeschoolers, a welcome addition to collections serving that audience and especially useful for children of soldiers deployed in Iraq and Afghanistan." -Kirkus

    "Should appeal to fans of Owen and Mzee and other stories of animals that triumph against the odds." -Publishers Weekly

    "Nubs is flawless.  It shall be our picture book of the year." -Vivian Leal, Director of Programs/Kepler's Books

Formats

Product Details

Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Price: $18.00 US/$20.00 CAN
  • Pages: 48
  • Physical Dimensions: 11" x 8-1/2"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316053181
  • On Sale Date: 11/01/2009
Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle