Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Sync

Sync

How Order Emerges from Chaos In the Universe, Nature, and Daily Life

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.
Read More

Genre: Nonfiction / Science / Applied Sciences

On Sale: February 14th 2012

Price: $11.99 / $14.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 352

ISBN-13: 9781401304461

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews