Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

A Novel

The ultimate book-lover’s fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library.

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can’t quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob — a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life — hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life’s duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world… and for once, it isn’t Charley’s doing.

There’s someone else who shares his powers. It’s up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, before these characters tear apart the fabric of reality.


Read More

Genre: Fiction / Fiction / Coming Of Age

On Sale: July 23rd 2019

Price: $26 / $34 (CAD)

Page Count: 464

ISBN-13: 9780316452717

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"A delightful blend of adventure and mystery and marvel, a story in which the fantastical becomes real. This beautifully-written novel is an exploration of the power fiction wields -- the power to inform and to change, even to endanger, our everyday world."—Louisa Morgan
Read More Arrow Icon
"A joyous adventure through all the tales you've ever loved. Funny, charming, clever and heartfelt, you're absolutely going to adore The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep."—Tasha Suri
Read More Arrow Icon
"Engaging and intelligent, The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep kept me turning the pages to discover familiar characters and surprising twists."—Rowenna Miller
Read More Arrow Icon