Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group’s updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants

A darkly funny debut for fans of Becky Albertalli, Matthew Quick, and Ned Vizzini about a nineteen-year-old girl who’s consumed by love, grief, and the many-tentacled beast of self-destructive behavior.

Freshman year at Harvard was the most anticlimactic year of Danny’s life. She’s failing pre-med and drifting apart from her best friend. One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity. When she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl who she met in rehab for an eating disorder, she finally feels like she might be finding a new sense of self. But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her as she struggles to discover who that self really is. With a starkly memorable voice that’s at turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Love and Other Carnivorous Plants brilliantly captures the painful turning point between an adolescence that’s slipping away and the overwhelming uncertainty of the future.
Read More

Genre: Teen & Young Adult / Young Adult Fiction / Lgbt

On Sale: May 15th 2018

Price: $9.99 / $12.99 (CDN)

Page Count: 352

ISBN-13: 9780316436694

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

*"Gonsalves' debut is a pitch-perfect take on what happens when the future you imagined doesn't live up to expectations, and every misstep seems to unravel the person you thought you'd become.... This genuinely funny novel about some harrowing topics manages to balance humor and pathos perfectly. Readers who connected with J.J. Johnson's Believarexic or Sam J. Miller's The Art of Starving will want this book, as well as the many John Green fans who crave intelligent stories that occupy both shadow and light."
Booklist, starred review
"Fans of Sarah Dessen will appreciate Danny's relatable and realistic journey. A must-have sharp, powerful, and witty immersion into the complexities of sexual identity and mental health."—School Library Journal
"Gonsalves juggles multiple serious adolescent challenges with operatic verve--eating disorders, substance abuse, sexual awakening and orientation, mental health, grief--and the resulting bildungsroman proves engaging and enlightening...A feel-good debut sure to interest teens looking to feel better about not feeling so great."
Kirkus
"Gonsalves realistically conveys Danny's wide range of emotions, especially her anger. As Danny finds her footing, her most profound realization comes through accepting that she can live her life on her own terms and that she need not have it all figured out quite yet."—Publishers Weekly
"Self-deprecating, witty... As funny as it is painful."
VOYA
"A hilarious, thoughtful novel of trying to figure out loving other people when it hurts, and loving yourself when it's impossible."—Teenreads.com