The Iron Wyrm Affair

By Lilith Saintcrow (Trade Paperback, 2012)
Emma Bannon, forensic sorceress in the service of the Empire, has a mission: to protect Archibald Clare, a failed, unregistered mentath. His skills of deduction are legendary, and her own sorcery is not inconsiderable. It doesn't help much that they barely tolerate each other, or that Bannon's Shield, Mikal, might just be a traitor himself. Or that the conspiracy killing registered mentaths and sorcerers alike will just as likely kill them as seduce them into treachery toward their Queen.

In an alternate London where illogical magic has turned the Industrial Revolution on its head, Bannon and Clare now face hostility, treason, cannon fire, black sorcery, and the problem of reliably finding hansom cabs.

The game is afoot..
  • Orbit
    • Format: Trade Paperback

    • Price: $13.99 US/$15.50 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316201261

    • On Sale Date: 08/07/2012

    • Publisher: Orbit

    Formats Available: Trade Paperback, Electronic Book, Audiobook

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

  • Audiobook Excerpt

Emma Bannon, forensic sorceress in the service of the Empire, has a mission: to protect Archibald Clare, a failed, unregistered mentath. His skills of deduction are legendary, and her own sorcery is not inconsiderable. It doesn't help much that they barely tolerate each other, or that Bannon's Shield, Mikal, might just be a traitor himself. Or that the conspiracy killing registered mentaths and sorcerers alike will just as likely kill them as seduce them into treachery toward their Queen.

In an alternate London where illogical magic has turned the Industrial Revolution on its head, Bannon and Clare now face hostility, treason, cannon fire, black sorcery, and the problem of reliably finding hansom cabs.

The game is afoot..

Lilith Saintcrow was born in New Mexico, bounced around the world as an Air Force brat, and fell in love with writing when she was ten years old. She currently lives in Vancouver, WA. Find out more at www.lilithsaintcrow.com.
  • " Saintcrow scores a hit with this terrific Steampunk series that rockets through a Britain-that-wasn't with magic and industrial mayhem with a firm nod to Holmes.  Genius and a rocking good time." (New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs).

  • "Saintcrow melds a complex magic system with a subtle but effective steampunk society, adds fully-fleshed and complicated characters, and delivers a clever and highly engaging mystery that kept me turning pages, fascinated to the very end."

  • "Innovative world building, powerful steam punk, master storyteller at her best.  Don't miss this one....She's fabulous. "

  • "Lilith Saintcrow spins a world of deadly magic, grand adventure, and fast-paced intrigue through the clattering streets of a maze-like mechanized Londonium. The Iron Wyrm Affair is a fantastic mix of action, steam, and mystery dredged in dark magic with a hint of romance.  Loved it!  Do not miss this wonderful addition to the steampunk genre."

  • "Lilith Saintcrow's foray into steampunk plunges the reader into a
    Victorian England rife with magic and menace, where clockwork horses pace the cobbled streets, dragons rule the ironworks, and it will take a sorceress' discipline and a logician's powers of deduction to unravel a bloody conspiracy." (Jacqueline Carey).

  • "Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch." (Publishers Weekly (starred review)).

  • "This isn't just fantasy with cogs stuck on.  A really good read" (SFX).

  • "Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch." (Publishers Weekly).

  • "Fast paced and full of plot twists, this is a lightweight summer read for fans of Gail Carriger and Meljean Brooks." (Booklist).

  • "A fast and furious ride through an alternate Victorian London that occasionally stops for polite afternoon tea, just to let you catch your breath. Exciting, great characters and one of the best books I've read this year. Roll on the next instalment! " (thebookbag.co.uk).

  • "A fast-paced blend of Victorian-era urban fantasy and steampunkish technology." (Shelf Awareness).

  • (Publishers Weekly).

Formats

Product Details

The Iron Wyrm Affair
  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Price: $13.99 US/$15.50 CAN
  • Pages: 320
  • Physical Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316201261
  • On Sale Date: 08/07/2012
The Iron Wyrm Affair