Hachette Book Group’s privacy policy has been updated effective September 28, 2017. You can read the updated policy here. You can also email any questions to HBG-Privacy@hbgusa.com.

We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer here. By continuing to use the site without changing settings, you consent to our use of cookies.

Salt Lane

Salt Lane

A darkly told crime novel in the tradition of Tana French and Ian Rankin, featuring the return of THE BIRDWATCHER’s Alexandra Cupidi.

Sergeant Alexandra Cupidi is a recent transfer from the London metro police to the rugged Kentish countryside. She’s done little to ingratiate herself with her new colleagues, who find her too brash, urban, and–to make matters worse, she investigated her first partner, a veteran detective, and had him arrested on murder charges. Now assigned the brash young Constable Jill Ferriter to look after, she’s facing another bizarre case: a woman found floating in local marsh land, dead of no apparent cause.

The case gets even stranger when the detectives contact the victim’s next of kin, her son, a high-powered graphic designer living in London. Adopted at the age of two, he’d never known his mother, he tells the detectives, until a homeless womanknocked on his door, claiming to be his mother, just the night before: at the same time her body was being dredged from the water.

Juggling the case, her aging mother, her teenage daughter, and the loneliness of country life, Detective Cupidi must discover who the woman really was, who killed her, and how she managed to reconnect with her long lost son, apparently from beyond the grave.
Read More

Genre: Mystery & Thriller / Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural

On Sale: June 26th 2018

Price: $13.99

Page Count: 336

ISBN-13: 9780316563468

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

PRAISE FOR WILLIAM SHAW AND THE BIRDWATCHER

"One of summer's chilliest thrillers... Shaw's prose still sinks its hooks in."—Entertainment Weekly
"Discreet, thoughtful prose... by its theatrical but moving conclusion, The Birdwatcher... [is] an excellent read."—USA Today
"[Shaw's] writing is beautifully understated, and the characters are vividly drawn and likable in their imperfections. Shaw makes the stony landscape an important element in the work; it becomes, by the end of the story, a place to which readers will feel a curiously strong attachment."
Booklist
"William Shaw is, quite simply, an outstanding storyteller."—Peter May, Barry Award-winning author of the Lewis Trilogy