Hachette Book Group’s privacy policy has been updated effective September 28, 2017. You can read the updated policy here. You can also email any questions to HBG-Privacy@hbgusa.com.

We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer here. By continuing to use the site without changing settings, you consent to our use of cookies.

When a Crocodile Eats the Sun

When a Crocodile Eats the Sun

A Memoir of Africa

Hailed by reviewers as “powerful,” “haunting” and “a tour de force of personal journalism,” When A Crocodile Eats the Sun is the unforgettable story of one man’s struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe’s spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family’s steady collapse. This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

“In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father’s illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe’s descent into tyranny. His parent’s waning and the country’s deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other” — Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon

“A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel.” -Kurt Anderson, author of Heydey
Read More

Genre: Nonfiction / Biography & Autobiography / Editors, Journalists, Publishers

On Sale: April 10th 2008

Price: $16

Page Count: 368

ISBN-13: 9780316018715

What's Inside

Read More Read Less