Hachette Book Group’s privacy policy has been updated effective September 28, 2017. You can read the updated policy here. You can also email any questions to HBG-Privacy@hbgusa.com.

We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer here. By continuing to use the site without changing settings, you consent to our use of cookies.

The Trap

The Trap

Now in paperback, a twisted debut thriller “for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn” (Booklist) about a reclusive author who sets the perfect trap for her sister’s murderer–but is he really the killer?

The renowned author Linda Conrads is famous for more than just her bestselling novels. For over eleven years, she has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Far-fetched, sometimes sinister rumors surround the shut-in writer, but they pale in comparison to the chilling truth: Linda is haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister, whom she discovered in a pool of blood twelve years ago, and by the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene.

Now plagued by panic attacks, Linda copes with debilitating anxiety by secluding herself in her house, her last safe haven. But the sanctity of this refuge is shattered when her sister’s murderer appears again–this time on her television screen. Empowered with sudden knowledge but hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use her only means of communication with the outside world–the plot of her next novel–to lay an irresistible trap for the man.

But as the plan is set in motion and the past comes rushing back, Linda’s memories of that traumatic night–and her very sanity–are called into question. Is this man really a heartless killer or merely a helpless victim? *Includes Reading Group Guide*
Read More

Genre: Mystery & Thriller / Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense

On Sale: July 11th 2017

Price: $14.99

Page Count: 352

ISBN-13: 9781455592906

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

"This one has everything: intriguing characters, a great sense of place that grounds the action, and a devious and enthralling plot."—The Globe and Mail
"In a crisp translation from the German by Imogen Taylor, Raabe delivers on a sly premise."—Seattle Times
"A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn."—Booklist
"If you think you know what's going on in this winding psychological thriller, you're probably wrong...[a] Misery-in-reverse story."—Elle, "11 of the Best Books to Read in July"
"Intricately constructed... nicely done twists and turns."—Kirkus Reviews
"A complex, amazingly written book that deals with the subject of walking the line between sanity and insanity based on one dreadful night that changes a life forever....An excellent job in all facets of storytelling from plot to characters to tone, this one definitely deserves the full 5-stars!"—Suspense Magazine
"Suspenseful...taut storytelling."—Publishers Weekly
"[An] impressive debut...very artfully told-this is an enjoyable read which shows that the line between madness and genius is sometimes very thin."—True Viral News, "If You Liked Girl on a Train You'll Love These"
"A superb psychological thriller with a storyline that will have you hooked. Not suitable for sensitive constitutions."—AR (Spain)
"A real literary phenomenon."—Mía (Spain)