Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

If You Find This

If You Find This

Mixing mystery and adventure in the tradition of Louis Sachar, Avi, and E.L. Konigsburg, If You Find This is the story of unlikely friendships, unexpected bravery and eleven-year-old Nicholas Funes’s quest to prove his grandfather’s treasure is real.

 
Nicholas is a math and music genius with no friends and a huge problem: His father has lost his job, and they’ll have to sell their house, which holds the only memory Nicholas has of his younger brother. Just in time, Nicholas’s senile grandfather arrives, filled with tales of priceless treasure he has hidden somewhere in town–but where?
With the help of misfit classmates, two grandfathers, a ghosthouse, hidden messages, séances, and an uncanny mind for numbers, Nicholas stages a nursing home breakout, tangles with high schoolers in smugglers’ tunnels, and gets swept up in a duel with the biggest bullies in the neighborhood. Will it be enough to find the treasure and save his house?
Read More

Genre: Children's Books / Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure

On Sale: March 17th 2015

Price: $6.99 / $8.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 368

ISBN-13: 9780316240109

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

Praise for If You Find This:
A Booklist Top Ten 2015 Debut Novel
An Edgar Award Nominee for Best Juvenile Mystery
 

"This unique book is both a ripping adventure and a piercing portrait of an extraordinary boy. You've never heard a tale told like this... For that, and many other reasons, it demands to be read and discussed."—Adam Gidwitz, New York Times bestselling author of A Tale Dark and Grimm

Read More Arrow Icon

"Lively, entertaining and satisfying."—Kirkus

Read More Arrow Icon

* "Reminiscent of Louis Sachar's Holes, this is a rich, captivating tale about family and redemption that redefines the meaning of treasure."—Booklist,

Read More Arrow Icon

"Smugglers caves, graveyards, ghost houses, seances, and...maps come together to make an intriguing mystery for the group to solve as the characters wrestle with their past selves in hopes of a better future. The story is enhanced with musical and mathematical notations (terms like "forte" and "piano" appear as subscript throughout, modifying actions and dialogue), giving readers a glimpse into Nicholas's impressive brain and adding an unusual layer of interest and beauty to debut author Baker's storytelling."—Publishers Weekly

Read More Arrow Icon