Use BOOKISH22 for 10% off at checkout! Free shipping on $45+

Meet The Author: Kate Thompson

Kate Thompson was born in London and worked as a journalist for women's magazines and national newspapers before becoming a novelist. Over the past ten years, Kate has written twelve fiction and nonfiction titles, three of which have made the Sunday Times top ten bestseller list. She now lives in Sunbury with her husband, two sons, and two rescued Lurcher dogs, Ted and Saphhie. 
 
Discover More

Praise

"A heartwarming story of how friendship and the written word sustain us in the toughest times."—Janet Skeslien Charles, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Library
"Gripping, emotional and uplifting."—Gill Paul, USA Today bestselling author of The Secret Wife
"A captivating tale about the power of libraries and how they connect us . . . [a] fascinating slice of history."—Andie Newton, author of The Girls from the Beach
"Kate has such a talent for bringing history to vivid life. Utterly transporting, vivid and fresh."—Iona Grey, bestselling author of Letters to the Lost
"[A] splendid warm-hearted novel of wartime resilience and romance."—Rachel Hore, bestselling author of A Beautiful Spy
Read More Read Less

The Little Wartime Library

Regular Price $16.99

Regular Price $22.99 CAD

Regular Price $16.99

Regular Price $22.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around February 21, 2023. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

Also Available From:

Buy Now:

On Sale

Feb 21, 2023

Page Count

480 Pages

ISBN-13

9781538724217

Description

An uplifting and inspiring novel based on the true story of a librarian who created an underground shelter during World War II, perfect for readers of The Paris Library or The Last Bookshop in London. 

London, 1944: Clara Button is no ordinary librarian. While war ravages the city above her, Clara has risked everything she holds dear to turn the Bethnal Green tube station into the country’s only underground library. Down here, a secret community thrives with thousands of bunk beds, a nursery, a café, and a theater—offering shelter, solace, and escape from the bombs that fall upon their city.

          Along with her glamorous best friend and assistant Ruby Munroe, Clara ensures the library is the beating heart of life underground. But as the war drags on, the women's determination to remain strong in the face of adversity is tested to the limits when it may come at the price of keeping those closest to them alive.