Mistress of Lies

Coming Soon

Contributors

By K. M. Enright

Formats and Prices

Price

$31.99

Format

Format:

  1. Audiobook Download (Unabridged) $31.99
  2. ebook $9.99 $12.99 CAD
  3. Trade Paperback $19.99 $25.99 CAD

A villainous, bloodthirsty heroine finds herself plunged into the dangerous world of power, politics and murder in the court of the vampire king in this dark romantic fantasy debut.

Fate is a cruel mistress. 


The daughter of a powerful but disgraced Blood Worker, Shan LeC laire has spent her entire life perfecting her blood magic, building her network of spies, and gathering every scrap of power she could. Now, to protect her brother, she assassinates their father and takes her place at the head of the family. And that is only the start of her revenge.

Samuel Hutchinson is a bastard with a terrible gift. When he stumbles upon the first victim of a magical serial killer, he's drawn into the world of magic and intrigue he's worked so hard to avoid – and is pulled deeply into the ravenous and bloodthirsty court of the vampire king.

Tasked by the Eternal King to discover the identity of the killer cutting a bloody swath through the city, Samuel, Shan and mysterious Royal Blood Worker Isaac find themselves growing ever closer to each other. But Shan's plans are treacherous, and as she lures Samuel into her complicated web of desire, treason and vengeance, he must decide if the good of their nation is worth the cost of his soul.

Fans of From Blood and Ash and Kingdom of the Wicked will devour this decadent, bloodthirsty debut.

Genre:

  • "[A] riveting and remarkably assured dark fantasy debut. Enright’s richly atmospheric prose immerses readers in a meticulously crafted world, where familiar vampire tropes are skillfully subverted. The high-stakes romance subplot, featuring a polyamorous relationship and trans representation, adds depth and tension to the narrative. Calling to mind the works of both Anne Rice and V.E. Schwab, this tale of magic, murder, and ambition will captivate fans of dark, political fantasy." 
    Publishers Weekly (Starred)
  • "Mistress of Lies held me captive from the very first page. What a story—dark and gripping, raw and beautifully imagined. With their stunning prose, compelling morally gray characters, inventive magic system, and knack for piercingly heartfelt moments amidst all the horror and intrigue, K.M. Enright is definitely one to watch."
    Thea Guanzon, USA Today, New York Times, and Sunday Times bestselling author of The Hurricane Wars
  • "Captivating and deadly, Mistress of Lies enthralls from the very first page. Twisted through with the darkest of secrets. . . a powerful exploration of race, class and injustice."
    Laura R. Samotin, author of The Sins On Their Bones
  • “Enright weaves a stunning tale ripe with political scheming, fascinating magic, and deliciously complicated characters you can’t help but root for. An excellent choice for those looking to sink into a decadent story that won’t let them go.”
    Sara Hashem, author of The Jasad Heir
  • "A dark, delicate, beauty of a novel, with all the edges of sharpened steel."
    K.S. Villoso, author of The Wolf of Oren-Yaro
  • “An exquisitely crafted, bloodthirsty decadence of gothic romance and cunning political intrigue. Enright weaves a fantasy that is utterly unputdownable."
    Ashley Shuttleworth, author of The Hollow Star Saga
  • "Sensual and sinister, Mistress of Lies had me by the throat. This class conscious political fantasy speaks to the diasporic longing for recognition and connection, and the constant balancing of identity and integration in a very special way."
    Gabriella Buba, author of Saints of Storm and Shadow
  • "Glittering darkly with facets of magic, romance, and deep lore, K. M. Enright's Mistress of Lies is a seductive and blood-soaked jewel of a debut."
    Lyra Selene, author of A Feather So Black
  • "Mistress of Lies is dark, sexy, and twisty, the plot as winding and eerie as the streets of Aeravin itself. With compelling characters and a fresh take on blood magic, this book will seize you by the throat and hold your attention to the very end."
    Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter
  • "Lush and unrelenting, this complex political intrigue is an ode to those who will seize destiny in their own, bloodied hands."
    Lyndall Clipstone, author of Unholy Terrors
  • "An exquisitely crafted, bloodthirsty decadence of gothic romance and cunning political intrigue. Enright weaves a fantasy that is utterly unputdownable."
    Ashley Shuttleworth, author of A Dark and Hollow Star
  • "Mistress of Lies is a honey trap of romance and royaltycore that leaves no corroded stone unturned when delving into the corruption at the heart of monarchy."
    Ladz, author of The Fealty of Monsters
  • "A cunning and clawed fantasy romance. Whether manoeuvring cutthroat society parties or scorching bedroom alliances, Enright's characters crackle with chemistry, pitting loyalty against clashing ideals in a twisting murder mystery that will leave you breathless to the very end."
    S. A. MacLean, author of The Phoenix Keeper
  • "A dark fantasy the way it should be done: intricately built, steeped in political intrigue, featuring messy families, morally grey protagonists, and visceral blood magic. I adored the world Enright has created, deep and complex, with an atmosphere so thick, you can slice it with a knife."
    Genoveva Dimova, author of Foul Days
  • "Politics, family, and desire weave a tangled web across a decadent, blood-soaked city in this stunning debut. Dark, dangerous, and entrancing!”
    Melissa Caruso, author of The Obsidian Tower

On Sale
Aug 13, 2024
Publisher
Hachette Audio
ISBN-13
9781668642184

K. M. Enright

About the Author

K. M. Enright is a Filipino-American writer of romantic fantasy for teens and adults. When not writing, he can be found playing too many video games, cooking, or listening to Broadway musicals. He currently lives in New Jersey with his spouse and their black cat, Zuko.

Learn more about this author