The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

Contributors

By Jonas Jonasson

Formats and Prices

Price

$9.99

Format

Format:

  1. ebook $9.99
  2. Trade Paperback $18.99

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around September 11, 2012. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

A larger-than-life old man with a fondness for vodka goes on an unexpected adventure in this whimsical novel — perfect for fans of Forrest Gump and A Man Called Ove.

The international publishing sensation — more than six million copies sold worldwide!

A reluctant centenarian much like Forrest Gump (if Gump were an explosives expert) decides it’s not too late to start over . . .

After a long and eventful life, Allan Karlsson ends up in a nursing home, believing it to be his last stop. The only problem is that he’s still in good health, and in one day, he turns 100. A big celebration is in the works, but Allan really isn’t interested (and he’d like a bit more control over his vodka consumption). So he decides to escape. He climbs out the window in his slippers and embarks on a hilarious and entirely unexpected journey, involving, among other surprises, a suitcase stuffed with cash, some unpleasant criminals, a friendly hot-dog stand operator, and an elephant (not to mention a death by elephant).

It would be the adventure of a lifetime for anyone else, but Allan has a larger-than-life backstory: Not only has he witnessed some of the most important events of the twentieth century, but he has actually played a key role in them. Starting out in munitions as a boy, he somehow finds himself involved in many of the key explosions of the twentieth century and travels the world, sharing meals and more with everyone from Stalin, Churchill, and Truman to Mao, Franco, and de Gaulle. Quirky and utterly unique, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared has charmed readers across the world.

Genre:

On Sale
Sep 11, 2012
Page Count
400 pages
Publisher
Hachette Books
ISBN-13
9781401304393

Jonas Jonasson

About the Author

Jonas Jonasson was born in Sweden in 1961. A former journalist and media consultant, he is now writing his second novel. He speaks fluent English.

Learn more about this author