Children of the Night

The Best Short Stories by Black Writers, 1967 to Present


By Gloria Naylor

Formats and Prices




$33.99 CAD


Trade Paperback


Trade Paperback $25.99 $33.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around February 1, 1997. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

The sequel to Langston Hughes's 1967 classic anthology The Best Short Stories by Black Writers, Gloria Naylor's Children of the Night is a "brilliant collection" of short stories by black writers including Maya Angelou, Ralph Ellison, and Edward P. Jones (Booklist). 

In 1969, Langston Hughes edited The Best Short Stories by Black Writers, the classic compendium of African-American short fiction from 1899 to 1967. A quarter of a century later, Gloria Naylor compiled an encore volume, Children of the Night, gathering together the most gifted black writers of the later twentieth century — from 1967 to its publication in 1997 — in a rich and varied collection of stories.

The portrait that emerges of the African-American experience in the post-Civil Rights era is stirring, compelling, sometimes disturbing, and certainly provocative. Arranged in in four thematic section — "Remembering," "Affirming," "Revealing the Self Divided," and "Moving On" — the thirty-seven stories included brilliantly capture the many facets of the black experience in America. 


On Sale
Feb 1, 1997
Page Count
592 pages