To the Edge and Back

My Story from Organ Transplant Survivor to Olympic Snowboarder


By Chris Klug

With Steve Jackson

Formats and Prices




$28.99 CAD


Trade Paperback


Trade Paperback $21.99 $28.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around November 15, 2004. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

Displaying faith, courage, and perseverance, snowboard racer Chris Klug battled for years to have his “extreme” sport accepted in the mainstream. He rose through the World Cup ranks and won a bronze medal at the 2002 Winter Olympics less than two years after undergoing a lifesaving liver transplant. Not since Lance Armstrong’s It’s Not About the Bike has a stricken athlete’s story been as poised to transcend the sport. In 1996, during snowboarding’s World Cup season, Chris was diagnosed with primary sclerosing cholangitis—the same disease that would cause the death of his childhood hero, football great Walter Payton. His four-year wait for a donor came to an end when his rapidly failing liver prompted doctors to move him up on the transplant list. With the shooting death of a thirteen-year-old boy, Chris was given the organ that gave him a second chance at life. From his youth as a high school football hero, to his campaign for snowboarding’s acceptance, and through surgery, recovery, and Olympic glory, every setback and victory in Chris Klug’s ride is riveting. To the Edge and Back will be cherished as a story of an athlete who represents the best of the human spirit.


On Sale
Nov 15, 2004
Page Count
360 pages
Da Capo Press

Chris Klug

About the Author

Chris Klug has compiled four World Cup victories, three Grand Prix wins, five national titles, a U.S. Open victory, a bronze medal in the 2002 Winter Olympics, and is training for the 2006 Olympics. He lives in Aspen, Colorado.

Steve Jackson is a journalist from Evergreen, Colorado. His books include Lucky Lady, which won the 2003 Colorado Book Award for History.

Learn more about this author