From legendary author and critic bell hooks and multi-Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka comes a fresh look at bad moods, perfect for fans of Grumpy Monkey and The Pout Pout Fish.

Here’s a positive way to face our bad, grumpy, and wild moods! Acclaimed writer bell hooks offers a vision of calm with a soothingly rhythmic text, while award-winning artist Chris Raschka’s vibrant art adds a healthy dose of compassion and humor, reminding readers that sometimes you just have to go inside and let it slide.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

* "[F]ew picture books can match the visceral punch of this one's opening, which does for bad moods what Sendak's wild rumpus sequence did for bedtime naughtiness."
---Booklist, starred review

* "With its intensity and understanding, this bad-mood book rivals Jules Feiffer's I'm Not Bobby! and Molly Bang's When Sophie Gets Angry, Really, Really Angry..."
---Publishers Weekly, starred review

"[A] deceptively simple picture book by masters of that form... Its power goes straight to the visceral in a way that will resonate for a long, long time."
---Kirkus Reviews

"Expressionistic art and economical poetry combine smoothly to create an inspiring model of self-control... While abstract and symbolic, this book has a healthful and hopeful message that readers will connect with emotionally."
---School Library Journal
Read More Read Less

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.