25% OFF & FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $35! Use Code: THANKFUL

Snakewood

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around March 15, 2016. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

Also Available From:

Buy Now:

On Sale

Mar 15, 2016

ISBN-13

9781478960935

Description

An epic fantasy like no other, Adrian Selby’s debut takes an unblinking look at the price we pay for our pasts, the art of war and the people who make it their business. Enter a violent world of revenge and bloody combat with characters you’ll never forget.

They called them Kailen’s Twenty, a legendary band of ruthless mercenaries who gave no quarter. Living only by the code of steel, blood and coin, and aided by fightbrews that gave them the edge in battle, whoever met their price won.

Now, broken up and seemingly forgotten, they are being hunted down, one by one.

Drawn from multiple accounts compiled by a scholar investigating the legendary group’s demise, who is also the son of one of the Twenty, Snakewood is fantasy at its most inventive and rewarding.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

"Set in a brutal world of subtle magic, clashing empires, and commercial interests, this is an impressive fantasy debut. Selby demonstrates the command of style, character, plotting, and world building of a seasoned author."—Booklist
Betrayal and retribution epitomize Selby's epic fantasy/thriller debut, set in an Earth-like, barbaric, drugged-up society reliant on plant-based narcotic concoctions for addictive potions and deadly poisons. His detail-heavy, conversational dialogue in memoir/journal design and his militant, Berserker-ish characters keep pages turning. Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie.—RT Book Reviews
"Not your typical grimdark fantasy....While it's a complex tale, this is also an immensely readable one, and should appeal to fans of the immersive world-building of Brandon Sanderson. Selby constructs his world on a personal, visceral level, making sure we feel everything that happens to the narrators."—BarnesandNoble.com
"I give it nothing but the highest recommendation."—Grimdark Magazine
"Original and effective ... relish the well-choreographed action scenes."—Library Journal
"Contemporary and grimdark as it comes."—British Fantasy Society
"Absolutely fascinating and incredibly original."—Sense of Wonder
"Wears its grimdark on its sleeve ... a thrilling tale of adventure, betrayal, triumph and loss."—Interzone
"Grim mercenaries and badass alchemists brought to life by a bold, assured storyteller."—Peter Newman, author of The Vagrant
"A lot to enjoy, especially if you are a fan of dark, gritty, old-soldier stories."—Fantasy Faction
"Uniquely dark and gritty fantasy. An intriguing debut."—Bibliosanctum
Read More Read Less