Heaven's Queen

By Rachel Bach (Trade Paperback, 2014)
From the moment she took a job on Captain Caldswell's doomed ship, Devi Morris' life has been one disaster after another: government conspiracies, two alien races out for her blood, an incurable virus that's eating her alive.

Now, with the captain missing and everyone -- even her own government -- determined to hunt her down, things are going from bad to impossible. The sensible plan would be to hide and wait for things to blow over, but Devi's never been one to shy from a fight, and she's getting mighty sick of running.

It's time to put this crisis on her terms and do what she knows is right. But with all human life hanging on her actions, the price of taking a stand might be more than she can pay.
  • Orbit
    • Format: Trade Paperback

    • Price: $15.00 US/$17.00 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316221122

    • On Sale Date: 04/22/2014

    • Publisher: Orbit

    • Imprint: Orbit

    Formats Available: Trade Paperback, Electronic Book

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

From the moment she took a job on Captain Caldswell's doomed ship, Devi Morris' life has been one disaster after another: government conspiracies, two alien races out for her blood, an incurable virus that's eating her alive.

Now, with the captain missing and everyone -- even her own government -- determined to hunt her down, things are going from bad to impossible. The sensible plan would be to hide and wait for things to blow over, but Devi's never been one to shy from a fight, and she's getting mighty sick of running.

It's time to put this crisis on her terms and do what she knows is right. But with all human life hanging on her actions, the price of taking a stand might be more than she can pay.

Rachel Bach grew up wanting to be an author and a super villain. Unfortunately, super villainy proved surprisingly difficult to break into, so she stuck to writing and everything worked out great. She currently lives in Athens, GA with her perpetually energic toddler, extremely understanding husband, overflowing library, and obese wiener dog. You can find out more about Rachel and all her books at rachelbach.net.

Rachel also writes fantasy under the name Rachel Aaron. Learn more about her first series, The Legend of Eli Monpress, and read sample chapters for yourself at rachelaaron.net!
  • "If you liked Star Wars, if you like the Kate Daniels series, and if you are waiting for Guardians of the Galaxy to hit the theaters, this is your book." (Ilona Andrews on Fortune's Pawn).

  • "This book kicked ass...I LOVED IT!" ( Felicia Day on Fortune's Pawn ).

  • "Great space battles, awesome shootouts and enough betrayals and alliances to rival A Game of Thrones." (Washington Post on Honor's Knight).

  • "Fun, with phasers on lethal." ( Kirkus on Honor's Knight ).

  • "Rachel Bach's Fortune's Pawn is based on a fascinating premise and launches what looks to be a superb military science fiction series." (Eric Flint).

  • "Rollicking space opera starring a tough, sexy, armor-clad space chick...Lots of fun." (Kirkus on Fortune's Pawn).

  • "Fans of Lois McMaster Bujold's Vorkosigan series and David Weber's Honor Harrington novels should enjoy starting another potentially long-running SF military saga." (Library Journal on Fortune's Pawn).

  • "Bach's space opera is a fantastic, action-packed and accessible exploration of deep space. Devi is hands-down one of the best sci-fi heroines I've read in a long time." (RT Book Reviews on Fortune's Pawn (4 1/2 Stars)).

  • "Like Firefly told by Lois McMaster Bujold." (io9.com on Fortune's Pawn).

Formats

Product Details

Heaven's Queen
  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Price: $15.00 US/$17.00 CAN
  • Pages: 400
  • Physical Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316221122
  • On Sale Date: 04/22/2014
Heaven's Queen