Like Family

Growing Up in Other People's Houses, a Memoir
By Paula McLain (Trade Paperback, 2013)
In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sThe Liar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.
  • Little, Brown and Company
    • Format: Trade Paperback

    • Price: $15.00 US/$17.00 CAN

    • ISBN-13: 9780316400602

    • On Sale Date: 08/06/2013

    • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

    • Imprint: Back Bay Books

    Formats Available: Electronic Book, Trade Paperback

  • Newsletter

    Don't miss updates about our authors, including book tour info and new book releases.

In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sThe Liar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

Paula McLain, author of the bestselling novel The Paris Wife, received her MFA in poetry from the University of Michigan in 1996. Her other books include two volumes of poems, Less of Her and Stumble, Gorgeous, and the novel A Ticket to Ride. She teaches in the MFA Program in Poetry at New England College, and lives with her family in Cleveland.
  • "Astonishing . . . With her poetic gift for language, McLain demonstrates the true meaning of family." (Chicago Tribune).

  • "A sometimes startling, always engaging view of the hidden world in our own backyard." (Elle).

  • "Like Family is a personal triumph . . . McLain's story is one of nobility and of the strength of a young woman's spirit." (Wisconsin State Journal).

  • "The first thing that strikes the reader about Like Family is that the author has chosen her words very carefully, fastening her story to a spectacularly stark but beautifully resonant prose." (BUST).

  • "A powerful and haunting memoir." (Ann Arbor News).

Formats

Product Details

Like Family
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Price: $15.00 US/$17.00 CAN
  • Pages: 288
  • Physical Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
  • ISBN-13: 9780316400602
  • On Sale Date: 08/06/2013
Like Family