Guilt by Degrees

By Marcia Clark (Trade Paperback, 2014)
  • Audiobook Excerpt

Marcia Clark began practicing law as a criminal defense attorney. She became a prosecutor in the L.A. District Attorney's Office in 1981, and spent ten years in the Special Trials Unit where she handled a number of high profile cases prior to the O.J. Simpson case, including the prosecution of stalker/murderer Robert Bardo, whose conviction for the murder of actress Rebecca Schaeffer resulted in legislation that offered victims better protection from stalkers as well as increased punishment for the offenders.

Since the Simpson trial, Ms. Clark has toured the U.S. and Canada giving lectures on a variety of women's issues including domestic violence and inspirational/motivational speeches, as well as lectures on the latest high profile cases, public service careers, and of course, the Trial of the Century.

In May of 1997, her book on the Simpson case, Without a Doubt was published and quickly rose to #1 on the New York Times, Wall St. Journal, Washington Post, LA Times, and Publisher's Weekly bestsellers lists.

From February 1998 to 2000 Marcia was under contract as a legal analyst and expert commentator for NBC, CNBC and MSNBC. She appeared weekly as the substitute host of Geraldo Rivera's "Rivera Live," and also hosted "Equal Time" for CNBC and "Judge and Jury" for MSNBC. Marcia has appeared on the "Oprah Winfrey Show," the "Larry King Show," the "Today" show, "The Early Show," and "Good Morning America," among others, and provides legal commentary on a wide variety of cable shows such as "Anderson Cooper 360" and "Issues with Jane Velez Mitchell."

Marcia Clark (with writing partner, Catherine LePard) has sold hour-long pilots to the FX network, Lifetime, and VH1 and developed a half hour comedy for NBC. She has also developed reality projects for CBS and was an executive producer of a one hour reality pilot for CBS.

Marcia has published three novels which feature Los Angeles Special Trials prosecutor Rachel Knight: Guilt by Association, Guilt by Degrees, and Killer Ambition, which is due out in June 2013. TNT has optioned the books and a drama series is currently in development. Marcia is attached as an executive producer. She's currently at work on her fourth novel.
  • Praise for Guilt by Degrees

    "It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller."  (James Patterson).

  • "Marcia Clark knows her villains, and GUILT BY DEGREES gives us one you won't forget. She also gives us one of the toughest and most appealing heroes to come along in a very long time. Prosecutor Rachel Knight is smart, funny, and just about fearless in her pursuit of justice and a good martini. GUILT BY DEGREES kept me guessing to the last page - and then impatient to read more about Rachel Knight." (Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of High Crimes and Vanished).

  • "Clark humanizes her tough lead, and gets the mixture of action and investigative legwork just right, more than making the case for a long life for this West Coast analogue to Linda Fairstein's Alex Cooper." (Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) ).

  • "This sequel to her remarkably accomplished debut, Guilt by Association (2010), proves that former prosecutor Clark is no one-book wonder...Clark has a winning cast of characters, a strong plot, and plenty of smart and sassy dialogue (particularly when Knight and her BFFs gather for after-work martinis), and she heightens interest in Knight's next appearance by establishing the psychopathic Bayer as her nemesis. A superlative series bringing together elements of both legal thrillers and police procedurals." (Michele Leber, Booklist ).

  • "Clark brings back Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight in this sequel to her well-received debut, Guilt by Association...Well-developed characters and a story arc that leaves the reader hanging are a surefire way to bring fans back for the next installment, and Clark has wisely left that door wide open. [This] should appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and David Baldacci." (Stacy Alesi, Library Journal ).

  • Praise for KILLER AMBITION:

    "Legal thrillers don't get much better than this.... Boasting a feisty protagonist, a winning supporting cast, and steadily escalating courtroom drama, KILLER AMBITION finds Clark at the top of her game."

    --- Michele Leber, Booklist (Starred Review)

    "Suspenseful and gripping...the best yet in the series. Clark's own expertise enables her to realistically portray the drama and vicissitudes of a criminal prosecution."

    --- Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

     

    Praise for GUILT BY ASSOCIATION:

    "You must read this book: it is wildly and complexly plotted, ebulliently witty and filled with riotous humor; it details the inner workings of the L.A. legal system with unprecedented accuracy and verve - and to top it off, it is a damn, damn, good thriller."
    --- James Ellroy

    "Marcia Clark's debut novel showcases her experience and knowledge of the legal system. The pace, plot and dialogue are as sharp as they come in the genre. Her character of Rachel Knight bleeds real blood, sweat and tears on the page. Guilt by Association is a four-bagger for Clark and her many new fans will eagerly await her next step up to the plate."
    --- David Baldacci

    "Clark, the lead prosecutor in the O.J. Simpson trial, makes a triumphant fiction debut that catapults her to the same level as Linda Fairstein, her fellow assistant DA turned legal thriller novelist... Readers will want to see a lot more of Knight, who combines strength of character and compassion with all-too-human foibles."
     --- Publishers Weekly  (Starred Review) 

    "The plot races along, and Clark adds just enough smart lawyer talk to keep us edified. It's sure to satisfy Law & Order fans."
     --- Wendy Witherspoon, Los Angeles Magazine 

    "Brainy, resolute, a bit wardrobe-challenged: DA Rachel Knight seems a lot like author Clark, who was lead prosecutor in the OJ Simpson murder trial.  But the shoptalk here has more panache than its real-life version as Knight and her buddies - a fellow prosecutor and an LAPD detective - play the angles to clear a colleague suspected of a murder-suicide.  Clark's plot is gritty and intriguing, but it's the hilariously potty-mouthed characters that make this debut thrill sing."  3-1/2 stars
    --- Ellen Shapiro, People

Product Details

Cover Image Not Found
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
  • Price: $14.99 US/$16.50 CAN
  • Pages: 448
  • ISBN-13: 9780316199766
  • On Sale Date: 05/01/2014
Cover Image Not Found

Tours & Events

Sunday, May 18th
Books Are Better Shared Event
Norman Murray Community Center
24932 Veterans Way
Mission Viejo, California 92692

OpenBookTM