Orders over $45 ship FREE

Short & Skinny

Regular Price $12.99

Regular Price $16.99 CAD

Regular Price $12.99

Regular Price $16.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around October 16, 2018. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

Also Available From:

Buy Now:

Description

New from syndicated comic strip artist Mark Tatulli comes a full-color middle grade graphic memoir that centers on Mark’s own experience in the summer after seventh grade.

As a middle schooler, Mark finds himself on the smaller side of the physical spectrum–being short AND skinny has really wreaked havoc on his confidence. So to end his bullying woes and get the girl–or at least the confidence to talk to the girl–he starts to explore bulking up by way of the miracle cures in the backs of his comics. But his obsession with beefing up is soon derailed by a new obsession: Star Wars, the hottest thing to hit the summer of 1977. As he explores his creative outlets as well as his cures to body image woes, Mark sets out to make his own stamp on the film that he loves.

Mark Tatulli’s graphic memoir debut is a humorous and heartfelt take on body-image, finding a creative outlet, and spending a summer in the 70’s.

Author Essay: Mark Tatulli

Praise

"Tatulli compellingly depicts how an object of culture can galvanize genuine emotions. A natural choice for fans of Raina Telgemeier or Jeffrey Brown's Jedi Academy series." —Booklist
Read More Read Less