Once Upon a Slime

Contributors

By Andy Maxwell

Illustrated by Samantha Cotterill

Formats and Prices

Price

$17.99

Price

$23.49 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around July 3, 2018. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

A slapstick, fractured fairy-tale mashup meets the evergreen kid obsession with slime.

Once upon a time--gloooooooorp! Ew, gross! Who slimed Goldilocks? Was it the Three Bears, exacting revenge? Not a chance! They’re next on the list of fairy-tale sliming victims! Red Riding Hood, the Wolf, Rapunzel, the Three Pigs…they’re all under attack. Who could be the mastermind behind this icky, sticky plan?

Young detectives can look for clues and solve the mystery in this picture book whodunnit that’s positively oozing with wit and charm, perfect for fans of Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story.

Genre:

  • "Packs in some solid jokes... Maxwell's humor is dry, and hip readers will giggle at the snapbacks and humorous dialogue sprinkled throughout. ...Cotterill's artwork...is loose and lively."
    Kirkus
  • "Green slime makes a winning story ingredient, and newcomer Maxwell gives it a workout in this fairy tale whodunit. ...Cotterill's ink-and-watercolor spreads have a cheerful, retro vibe and excel in capturing the frowns and grimaces provoked by the slime epidemic. ...Fast-moving and gross enough to make a diverting readaloud."
    Publishers Weekly
  • "This fractured fairy tale is based on characters from many traditional stories that older children will be familiar with... Slapstick."
    School Library Journal
  • "Oozing with wit and charm."
    Once Upon a Time in Gambit

On Sale
Jul 3, 2018
Page Count
40 pages
ISBN-13
9780316393263

Andy Maxwell

About the Author

Andy Maxwell makes his storytelling debut with Once Upon a Slime. He lives in New York City with his family, and in his spare time, he fixes antique pocket watches and plays the piano. He invites you to visit him online at maxwell.nyc.

Learn more about this author

Samantha Cotterill

About the Illustrator

Samantha Cotterill is the creator of No More Bows, her debut book for children, and the illustrator of Charlotte and the Rock and The Forever Garden. She lives in upstate New York with her husband and two boys. She invites you to visit her website at mummysam.com.

Learn more about this illustrator