Wanda Seasongood and the Almost Perfect Lie

Contributors

By Susan Lurie

Illustrated by Jennifer Harney

Cover design or artwork by Jennifer Harney

Formats and Prices

Price

$9.99

Price

$12.99 CAD

Format

ebook

Format:

ebook $9.99 $12.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around August 4, 2020. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

Wanda and her bluebird friend Voltaire return to the Scary Wood to rescue her older sister, Wren, from a witch in this magical fantasy novel perfect for fans of The Princess Bride.

Soon after returning from her first adventure in the Scary Wood and breaking a witch’s curse on her family, Wanda learns that she has an older sister, Wren, who is being held captive by the very same witch.

Wanda and her trusty bluebird companion, Voltaire, return to the forest to find and rescue her long-lost sibling. Along the way they face tricky trolls, a gruesome giant, a batty banshee, and other friends and foes before they take on the biggest challenge of all: Raymunda, leader of the witches.

In order to defeat Raymunda, Wanda will have to rely on Voltaire’s unreliable memory, and the witch’s son William, who seems incapable of telling the truth. Is Wren who they say she is? If so, why doesn’t she want to come home with Wanda?

This original fairy tale will have readers eagerly flipping pages to learn the truth.

  • Praise for Wanda Seasongood and the Mostly True Secret:

    "A solid story with a strong female heroine and interesting supporting characters, making this a good addition to any library's adventure collection."
    School Library Connection
  • "[Susan] Lurie spins a tale with satisfying twists and turns to keep the reader wondering who, if anyone, can be trusted in this fantastical adventure."
    BCCB
  • "Wanda is by turns charmingly flabbergasted and persistently practical but ever well meaning; readers are sure to root for her along the journey."
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "Readers will revel in the fantastical creatures and supernatural elements while cheering for Wanda and her avian sidekick."
    Booklist
  • "Readers will find it hard to put this book down once they start reading and will be excited to find out what's next for Wanda and Voltaire. A great choice for general purchase."
    School Library Journal

On Sale
Aug 4, 2020
Page Count
224 pages
ISBN-13
9781368056892

Susan Lurie

About the Author

Susan Lurie is a children’s book author and editor. Her most recent picture books include Swim, Duck, Swim!, which received a starred Kirkus review and appeared on Bank Street’s 2015 Best Books of the Year list; Will You Be My Friend?; and Frisky Brisky Hippity Hop. Before she became an independent author/editor, she was publisher of Parachute Press, the creator of the Goosebumps and Fear Street series. She has worked with R.L. Stine on over 140 Goosebumps books and still counting. She lives in Forest Hills, New York with her husband and their pet fish, Pickle.

Jenn Harney is the author-illustrator of Underwear! and Swim Swim Sink. She has also illustrated Wanda Seasongood and the Mostly True Secret as well as the Hazy Bloom chapter book series by Jennifer Hamburg and the picture books How to Become a Knight (in Ten Easy Lessons) by Todd Tarpley and Never Trumpet with a Crumpet by Amy Gibson. Jenn lives in Cleveland, Ohio, with her husband, her daughter, a corgi named Steve, and the ghost of the oldest living goldfish in North America. Follow her on Twitter @jennharknee.

Learn more about this author

Jennifer Harney

About the Illustrator

Jenn Harney is the author-illustrator of Underwear!. She has also illustrated the Hazy Bloom chapter book series by Jennifer Hamburg, as well as the forthcoming picture books How to Become a Knight (in Ten Easy Lessons) by Todd Tarpley and Never Trumpet with a Crumpet by Amy Gibson. Jenn lives in Cleveland, Ohio, with her husband, her daughter, a corgi named Steve, and the ghost of the oldest living goldfish in North America. Follow her on Twitter @jennharknee.

Learn more about this illustrator