Feast While You Can

Contributors

By Mikaella Clements

By Onjuli Datta

Formats and Prices

Price

$30.00

Price

$39.00 CAD

For readers of Nightbitch and We Ride Upon Sticks, this strange and sexy novel of queer love in a small town is an unsettling reminder that the horrors of modern life is a monster ready to possess us all.

In the valley at the intersection of three towering mountains sits Cadenze, an ugly, remote town with little to its name. It's filled with tourists in the summer and dead the rest of the year, when most of its residents surrender to a sleepier existence. Except, that is, for whatever is lurking in the caves. . .

Angelina Sicco was born and raised in Cadenze, and for many generations, so was every member of her family. Determined to be content with her lot in life, she walks her mongrel dog, attends her brother's heavy metal concerts, holds court in the local dive bar, and does everything she can to bait hot, queer women to her sleepy, conservative hometown. But on the night of a family party much like every other, Angelina runs into Patrick's ex, the sternly handsome Jagvi, who's back in town for a spell. Perhaps enticed by Jagvi’s arrival, an ancient evil lying dormant in those caves is awakened, and soon Angelina’s small, contained world begins to shatter.

As the monstrous force grows bolder, it infilitrates Angelina’s life. It talks with her dog’s mouth; it guzzles on her memories; it controls Angelina from the inside. Only Jagvi’s touch repels it — the final trigger for a secret, passionate romance. But this monster feasts on all the passion, heartbreak and mess that makes up a life, and Angelina Sicco’s life has never looked tastier. What will Angelina do to protect her future? And what will it cost her?

Genre:

  • "This book takes a bold and seemingly effortless swing for the fences of literary horror: beautiful, greedy and terrifying, it makes an intimate home for itself right alongside your bones. Add to that the vividly realised characters and setting, and a queer romance full of yearning and heat, and you get a unique story that I'll be thinking about forever."
    Freya Marske, internationally bestselling author of A Marvellous Light
  • "Feast While You Can is a truly monstrous romance, by turns alluring and appalling, sexy and grotesque, kinky and transportive. It's Call Me By Your Name meets Stephen King's It, for lesbians. It threw me against the wall and I loved it."
    Julia Armfield, author of Our Wives Under the Sea and Private Rites
  • PRAISE FOR THE VIEW WAS EXHAUSTING

    "A perfect summer read."
    Vogue
  • The View Was Exhausting is a pure delight! Effortlessly cool, razor sharp, and crazy fun—I couldn’t put it down. It is Notting Hill for 2021, an absolute crowd pleaser.”
    Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six
  • "An absolutely stellar debut with tension that crackles and prose that sings, The View Was Exhausting is the complex, Hollywood love story we've all been waiting for. Clements and Datta have crafted a book that's as heartfelt and earnest as it is sharp and surprising--I couldn't get enough."
    Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation
  • “I read it all in one morning and couldn't put it down once, which frankly was of huge disadvantage to me because I had work to do. The View Was Exhausting is enormously sophisticated, tension held like a net, as it slowly holds the reader closer and closer to a fire, and I laughed many times. It’s an absolute tour de force, and Win is now one of my new favorite protagonists ever.“
    Tamsyn Muir, New York Times bestselling author of Gideon the Ninth

On Sale
Oct 29, 2024
Page Count
304 pages
ISBN-13
9781538742259

Mikaella Clements

About the Author

Mikaella Clements and Onjuli Datta are the co-authors of THE VIEW WAS EXHAUSTING, a Goop and Good Housekeeping book club pick and named "a perfect summer read" by Vogue. Between them, their writing has been published in the New York Times, Guardian, Washington Post, White Review, Slate and more. They are married and live in Berlin.
 

Learn more about this author