The Tethered Mage

The Tethered Mage

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 GEMMELL MORNINGSTAR AWARD.

The Tethered Mage begins a spellbinding fantasy trilogy for fans of The Queen of the Tearling and The Red Queen, set in a world where magic is scarce and mages are bound in service to the Empire, to be used as weapons in times of war.

In the Raverran Empire, those born with magical power are strictly controlled — taken as children and conscripted into the Falcon army.

Zaira has lived her life on the streets to avoid this fate, hiding her mage mark and thieving to survive. But hers is a rare and dangerous magic, one that threatens the entire Empire.

Lady Amalia Cornaro was never meant to be a Falconer. Heiress and scholar, she was born into a treacherous world of political machinations.

But fate has bound the heir and the mage. And as war looms on the horizon, a single spark could turn their city into a pyre.


The Swords and Fire series
The Tethered Mage
The Defiant Heir
Read More

Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy / Fiction / Fantasy / Epic

On Sale: October 24th 2017

Price: $4.99 / $6.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 480

ISBN-13: 9780316466868

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

"Charming, intelligent, fast-moving, beautifully atmospheric, with a heroine and other characters whom I really liked as people. I couldn't put it down (I overstayed my lunch break in order to finish it.) I would love to read more set in this world."—Genevieve Cogman, author of The Invisible Library

"The Tethered Mage is the best kind of fantasy: intricate world-building, the most intriguing of court intrigues, and a twisty plot. But while readers might pick it up for those elements, they'll stay for the engaging characters and the unlikely friendships at the story's heart."—Rosalyn Eves, author of Blood Rose Rebellion

"The Tethered Mage is a riveting read, with delicious intrigue, captivating characters, and a brilliant magic system. I loved it from start to finish!"—Sarah Beth Durst, author of The Queen of Blood

"Intricate and enticing as silk brocade. Caruso's heroine is a strong, intelligent young woman in a beguiling, beautifully evoked Renaissance world of high politics, courtly intrigue, love and loyalty - and fire warlocks."—Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken Knives

"Engaging and entertaining with intrigue, a good pace, and strong characters. Zaira and Amalia are bright, bold heroes in a smartly constructed world."—James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was Lost

"One of the best first novels in a brand new high fantasy series that I've read in ages.... If you're hungry for a new fantasy series with awesome, nuanced characters, powerful worldbuilding, and solid writing-look no further. The Tethered Mage is the book you need right now. Absolutely recommended."—Book Smugglers

"An enchanting voice and an original world you won't want to leave."—

RJ Barker, author of Age of Assassins

"Breathtaking... Worth every moment and every page, and should make anyone paying attention
excited about what Caruso will write next."

BookPage

"A rich world, political intrigue, and action that keeps you turning pages--The Tethered Mage is classic fantasy with a fresh voice."—

Jeff Wheeler, author of The Queen's Poisoner

"The plotting is good, the characters interesting.... Something really special."—RT Book Reviews

"It's a pleasure to journey with shy and slightly awkward Amalia as she puts her scholarship in magic and puzzle-solving skills to good use.... Charming."—Kirkus

"Caruso skillfully maintains her plot."—Publishers Weekly

"A gorgeous, fresh fantasy debut filled with political intrigue and ethical quandary.... Highly recommend."—Girls in Capes