The Year of the Buttered Cat

A Mostly True Story

New Release

Contributors

By Lexi Haas

By Susan Haas

Formats and Prices

Price

$9.99

Price

$12.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around May 14, 2024. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

A funny and empowering memoir from a girl with a severe form of cerebral palsy, for fans of Wonder and Out of My Mind.

Includes 30 full color photos and a discussion guide, in print for the first time!


When she was just a tiny baby, something terrible happened to Lexi. It left her with an out-of-control body and without a voice. Now, as a precocious, superhero-obsessed thirteen-year-old, Lexi is counting down the final 24 hours to a risky brain surgery that might help her talk or—dare she dream it?—to walk and use her hands.

As surgery grows closer, Lexi finds an urgent, relentless need to share the story of the year in her life she calls The Year of the Buttered Cat. That year, on the verge of shutting out the rest of the world, Lexi began a gutsy and solitary quest to find her "missing" body… and she learns new ways to reach out to the world to save her friendships and uncover the startling truth about what happened to her as a baby.

In the spirit of Wonder by R.J. Palacio and Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper, here is a riveting story that offers empowering messages of friendship, family, and the art of redefining ourselves.

Genre:

  • A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
  • * "This moving, inspiring, and laugh-out-loud funny memoir with an intriguing title follows disabled, mostly nonverbal, super-smart Lexi Haas and her family. Readers will cheer Lexi on as she comes to terms with herself and her situation. Highly recommended."
    Booklist, starred review
  • * "This book is an inspiring story filled with love, laughs, and support. Readers may not have known Lexi before reading her story, but they will love her after. An excellent nonfiction pairing where titles like R.J. Palacio's Wonder, Lynda Mullaly Hunt's Fish in a Tree, and Sharon M. Draper's Out of My Mind are popular."
    School Library Journal, starred review
  • "Amusing and compelling."
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "An amazing and beautiful story."
    Youth Services Book Review

On Sale
May 14, 2024
Page Count
320 pages
ISBN-13
9780316575454