Orders over $45 ship FREE

Alice Asks the Big Questions

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around February 25, 2020. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

Also Available From:

Buy Now:

On Sale

Feb 25, 2020

ISBN-13

9781478992110

Description

For readers who love A Man Called Ove and the works of Alain de Botton comes the story of how a young woman’s project to help a friend launches her on a journey of self-discovery, from international bestselling author Lauren Gounelle.

Alice is very good at her job. She’s on the rise at a prominent PR firm, and there is no image-management disaster she can’t fix. But when her dearest friend, a parish priest in a charming French village, becomes depressed about his dwindling number of parishioners, she may finally have met her biggest challenge.

Though an avowed atheist, Alice is determined to apply her skills to the problem. She plunges into research, immersing herself in the world of spirituality, from Christianity to Hinduism, from self-empowerment seminars to the Tao Te Ching.

In her quest to understand how thinkers through the centuries have tried to answer the age-old questions of existence, Alice uncovers an astonishing truth–almost lost to time–that will forever change the way she thinks about humankind’s place in the universe, and her own.

In this moving and captivating novel, Laurent Gounelle takes us on a journey of spiritual and intellectual discovery that is sure to surprise and enlighten.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

"Charmingly witty... a story of self-discovery and the power of faith, French novelist Gounelle's latest tackles the big questions behind organized religion, exploring a thoroughly modern solution to a centuries-old problem: How can we better connect with ourselves, our God, and those around us? Neatly packaged and thought-provoking, spiritual without being preachy, this will appeal to fans of Fredrik Backman's A Man Called Ove and Nina George's The Book of Dreams."Booklist
Read More Read Less