The Watermelon Seed

Contributors

By Greg Pizzoli

Illustrated by Greg Pizzoli

Formats and Prices

Price

$7.99

Price

$10.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around May 3, 2016. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

In this award-winning book for kids, the crocodile has a problem: he loves watermelon, but he’s afraid of what will happen if he eats one of the seeds–there’s only one way to find out!

Crocodile loves watermelon, but what will happen when his greatest fear of swallowing a watermelon seed comes to pass? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? Only one thing is certain: his wild imagination will have kids laughing out loud and begging for another read.

With perfect comic pacing, bold color and dynamic sense of design, three-time Theodor Seuss Geisel Award recipient Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut transforms this familiar childhood anxiety into a contemporary classic read-aloud perfect for fans of I Want My Hat Back.

"[A]n expert debut." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Children will love this hilarious book. The story has broad appeal, making it a great first purchase." —School Library Journal (starred review)

Don't miss these other favorite books by Greg Pizzol:

The Book Hog
Good Night Owl
Number One Sam
Templeton Gets His Wish
This Story is For You
The Twelve Days of Christmas

  • *"[A]n expert debut."
    Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • *"Children will love this hilarious book. The story has broad appeal, making it a great first purchase."
    School Library Journal (starred review)
  • "A juicy premise...Pizzoli legitimizes childish anxieties but also slyly exaggerates each worry to highlight the humor."
    The New York Times
  • "With a sharp graphic sensibility, vibrant design, and adept characterization, Pizzoli spins the simple premise into a sweet confection, ripe with broad humor."
    Booklist
  • "The illustrations...recall the cheerful stylings of Ed Emberely and Roger Hargreaves. Deliciously bright colors...leap from the page."
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "With a sharp graphic sensibility, vibrant design, and adept characterization, Pizzoli spins the simple premise into a sweet confection, ripe with broad humor."
    Booklist Online

On Sale
May 3, 2016
Page Count
30 pages
ISBN-13
9781484712368

Greg Pizzoli

About the Illustrator

Greg Pizzoli is the creator of the Baloney & Friends series as well as a three-time Theodor Seuss Geisel Award recipient for The Watermelon Seed(Medal winner), The Book Hog (Honor book), and Good Night Owl (Honor book). He is also the author-illustrator of This Story Is for You, The 12 Days of Christmas, Templeton Gets His Wish, and Number One Sam. His nonfiction for children includes the New York Times Best Illustrated Book The Impossible True Story of Tricky Vic: The Man Who Sold the Eiffel Tower, and he has also illustrated picture books written by authors such as Mac Barnett, Kelly DiPucchio, Jennifer Adams, and Margaret Wise Brown. He lives in Philadelphia.

Learn more about this illustrator