Sugaring Off

Contributors

By Gillian French

Formats and Prices

Price

$17.99

Price

$22.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around November 1, 2022. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

ITW Thriller Award Finalist

A dazzling and evocative novel about love and loss—with a dash of thrilling mystery—for fans of Mindy McGinnis and Courtney Summers.

Owl has always been her freest self in the mountains, tracking, hiking, and exploring the steep forested acres of her aunt and uncle’s maple sugar farm. They never speak of the childhood tragedy that left her partially deaf and sent her father to jail. All Owl wants is to stay safe at the farm, her favorite place in the world, her refuge from those who would treat her differently.

Owl’s sheltered existence is blown wide open by Cody—the magnetic, dangerous young man hired to help with the season’s sugaring off. Cody seems to see the real her, to look past her hearing loss in a way no one else does. Together, they find comfort in their similarities and exhilaration in their differences, and risk a romance their families are desperate to stop.

​But then Owl hears her father will be released from prison, and a seemingly motiveless murder shakes the foundations of her small town. When the crime draws all eyes to Cody, Owl realized he is in far more serious trouble than anyone knows—and it’s followed him to her mountain.

  • ITW Thriller Award Finalist
  • "As in French’s other books, she treats her working-class characters with compassion but not preciousness, with a third-person narration that shows the complications of small-town life without exploiting it for drama.”
    The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
  • "Paced with the smoothness of flowing maple sugar, this book is to be savored."
    SLJ
  • "As ever, French weaves her storylines deftly…By the time a thriller plot kicks in, readers will be thoroughly embedded."
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "At turns lyrical and stark, Sugaring Off is a foray into the wilderness of New Hampshire’s mountains, a sensitive portrait of coming of age in rural America, and a spine-tingling thriller. Gillian French, like Delia Owens and Kristin Hannah, weaves her characters and the natural world they inhabit together masterfully."
    Cameron Kelly Rosenblum, author of The Stepping Off Place, a Kirkus Best Book of 2020
  • "A work of great beauty. Part mystery, part a story of love and loss, it’s all heart."
    Betty Culley, award-winning author of Three Things I Know Are True

On Sale
Nov 1, 2022
Page Count
352 pages
ISBN-13
9781643752709

Gillian French Author Photo

Gillian French

About the Author

Gillian French is the author of five novels for teens: GritThe Door to JanuaryThe Lies They TellThe Missing Season, and Sugaring Off. Her books have been finalists for an Edgar Award, a Bram Stoker Award, and an International Thriller Award, and have won a Lupine Award and two Maine Literary Awards. She lives with her husband and sons in Maine, where she’s perpetually at work on her next novel. Visit her online at gillianfrench.com.

Learn more about this author