Hachette Book Group’s privacy policy has been updated effective September 28, 2017. You can read the updated policy here. You can also email any questions to HBG-Privacy@hbgusa.com.

We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer here. By continuing to use the site without changing settings, you consent to our use of cookies.

I'm Just No Good at Rhyming

I'm Just No Good at Rhyming

And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups

The instant New York Times bestseller featured on NPR’s Weekend Edition with Scott Simon! B. J. Novak (bestselling author of The Book With No Pictures) described this groundbreaking poetry collection as “Smart and sweet, wild and wicked, brilliantly funny–it’s everything a book for kids should be.”

Meet Chris Harris, the 21st-century Shel Silverstein! Already lauded by critics as a worthy heir to such greats as Silverstein, Seuss, Nash and Lear, Harris’s hilarious debut molds wit and wordplay, nonsense and oxymoron, and visual and verbal sleight-of-hand in masterful ways that make you look at the world in a whole new wonderfully upside-down way. With enthusiastic endorsements from bestselling luminaries such as Lemony Snicket, Judith Viorst, Andrea Beaty, and many others, this entirely unique collection offers a surprise around every corner: from the ongoing rivalry between the author and illustrator, to the mysteriously misnumbered pages that can only be deciphered by a certain code-cracking poem, to the rhyming fact-checker in the footnotes who points out when “poetic license” gets out of hand. Adding to the fun: Lane Smith, bestselling creator of beloved hits like It’s a Book and The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales, has spectacularly illustrated this extraordinary collection with nearly one hundred pieces of appropriately absurd art. It’s a mischievous match made in heaven!

“Ridiculous, nonsensical, peculiar, outrageous, possibly deranged–and utterly, totally, absolutely delicious. Read it! Immediately!” –Judith Viorst, bestselling author of Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day
Read More

Genre: Children's Books / Juvenile Fiction / Poetry

On Sale: September 26th 2017

Price: $12.99

Page Count: 192

ISBN-13: 9780316266598

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

Praise for I'm Just No Good at Rhyming: And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups:

A New York Times Bestseller
An Amazon Best Book of October

*"A frolicking romp through the zany world of nonsense verse.... Visual, aural, and downright guffaw-inspiring puns and riddles abound in this wildly imaginative and cleverly illustrated debut collection. The inspired and inspiring sense of play knows no bounds."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review
*"Those who claim to hate poetry will enjoy this riotous compilation.... Fans of Ogden Nash, Shel Silverstein, and Jack Prelutsky will rejoice in finding another member of their gang. Smith matches Harris's wit with his own zaniness.... A surefire winner for reading aloud or for snickering with under the covers."
School Library Journal, starred review
*"Hits a poetry trifecta: high energy, rhymes that can rival Cole Porter's, and a torrent of ideas...a worthy heir to Silverstein, Seuss, and even Ogden Nash."
Publishers Weekly, starred review
*"A magnificently wacky romp through verse... This moving, madcap anthem to language is sure to stand the test of time."
Booklist, starred review
*"There's not a dud in the bunch."
The Horn Book, starred review
"I am a grown man and this book made me laugh out loud. When I was a kid, this was the kind of book that made me want to make comedy."
Jason Segel, actor, screenwriter, producer, and author of Nightmares!
"This book, with its loony poems and seriously weird illustrations, is ridiculous, nonsensical, peculiar, outrageous, possibly deranged--and utterly, totally, absolutely delicious. Read it! Immediately!"
Judith Viorst, bestselling author of Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day
"Chris Harris is a poet and everyone should know it! Love this book!"
Andrea Beaty, bestselling author of Rosie Revere, Engineer
"There once was a poet named Chris,
Whose book is quite hard to dismiss,
His poetry skill
Gives me quite a thrill,
And it's hard to write poetry, particularly if it's supposed to rhyme or fit into a certain rhythm, and if you don't believe me, take a look at this."
Lemony Snicket, bestselling author of A Series of Unfortunate Events and All the Wrong Questions
"I doubt that you'll ever read another book this clever, brilliant, or fun--but if you do, you'll say that that book is a Chris Harris-y one."
Esta Spalding, screenwriter and author of Look Out for the Fitzgerald-Trouts
"Hate to laugh? Love feeling blue? Are you quite dull? And dreary, too? Too bad, these rhymes are NOT FOR YOU."
Emily Jenkins, author of Upside-Down Magic and Toys Go Out
"Chris Harris is one of the funniest, sharpest, cleverest (not a word) writers I've ever known (and I'm not just saying that because we share a last name). This book made me laugh and laugh and laugh. I can't recommend it enough."
Neil Patrick Harris, actor and author of The Magic Misfits