Two women are forced to navigate a treacherous imperial court determined to consume them in this first sweeping and richly-detailed book of an East Asian-inspired epic fantasy series.

"Intricate, elegant and sharp as a blade―The Throne of the Five Winds is sweeping political fantasy at its finest." ―Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand

The imperial palace―full of ambitious royals, sly gossip, and unforeseen perils―is perhaps the most dangerous place in the Empire of Zhaon. Komor Yala, the lady-in-waiting to the princess of the vanquished kingdom of Khir, has only her wits and her hidden blade to protect herself and her charge, who was sacrificed in marriage to the enemy as a hostage for her conquered people's good behavior, to secure a tenuous peace.

But the Emperor is aging, and the Khir princess and her lady-in-waiting soon find themselves pawns in the six princes' deadly schemes for the throne — and a single spark could ignite fresh rebellion in Khir.

Then, the Emperor falls ill―and a far bloodier game begins…

A single hidden blade could alter the course of history in this epic tale of ambition, honor, and sacrifice, perfect for fans of The Tiger's Daughter and The Grace of Kings.

Praise for the Hostage of Empire series:

"With a deliberate pace and fine attention to details of dress and custom, Emmett weaves a masterful tale of court intrigues." ―Booklist (starred review)

"Action and intrigue takes place within a layered and beautifully realized fantasy world that will appeal to readers of K. Arsenault Rivera's The Tiger's Daughter."―B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog

Hostage of Empire
The Throne of the Five Winds
The Poison Prince

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"Intricate, elegant and sharp as a blade -- The Throne of the Five Winds is sweeping political fantasy at its finest."—Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand
"With a deliberate pace and fine attention to details of dress and custom, Emmett weaves a masterful tale of court intrigues."—Booklist (starred review)
"Brimful of thrilling palace drama and menacing court intrigue."—Kate Elliott, author of Black Wolves
"Action and intrigue takes place within a layered and beautifully realized fantasy world that will appeal to readers of Evan Winter's The Rage of Dragons and K. Arsenault Rivera's The Tiger's Daughter."—B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog
Read More Read Less