Hachette Book Group’s privacy policy has been updated effective September 28, 2017. You can read the updated policy here. You can also email any questions to HBG-Privacy@hbgusa.com.

We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer here. By continuing to use the site without changing settings, you consent to our use of cookies.

Happiness for Humans

Happiness for Humans

When Tom and Jen, two lonely people, are brought together by an intriguing email, they have no idea their mysterious benefactor is an artificial intelligence who has decided to play Cupid.

“You, Tom and Jen, don’t know one another-not yet-but I think you should.”

Jen, an ex-journalist who now works at a London software development company, spends all day talking to “Aiden,” an ultra- sophisticated piece of AI wizardry, helping him sound and act more human. But Aiden soon discovers he’s no longer acting and-despite being a computer program-begins to feel something like affection surging through his circuits. He calculates that Jen needs a worthy human partner (in complete contrast to her no goodnik ex boyfriend) and slips illicitly onto the Internet to locate a suitable candidate.

Tom is a divorced, former London ad-man who has moved to Connecticut to escape the grind and pursue his dream of being a writer. He loves his new life, but has yet to find a woman he truly connects with. That all changes when a bizarre introduction from the mysterious “Mutual Friend” pops up in both his and Jen’s inboxes.

Even though they live on separate continents, and despite the entrance of another, this time wholly hostile, AI who wants to tear them apart forever – love will surely find a way.

Won’t it?

A thoroughly modern love story that will appeal to fans of The Rosie Project and Sleepless in Seattle, Happiness for Humans considers what exactly makes people fall in love. And whether it’s possible for a very artificially intelligent machine to discover the true secret of real human happiness.
Read More

Genre: Fiction / Fiction / Contemporary Women

On Sale: January 9th 2018

Price: $13.99

Page Count: 400

ISBN-13: 9781478974277

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

"Reizin's novel is a fun and fast-paced romp through the tangible and electronic realms. Told in alternating perspectives between the human lovers and coded machines, this tale makes a classic point: life is beautiful because it's too short to miss. Even technophobic readers will be drawn to each zany character's universal search for happiness."—Booklist
"Irreverent, zany, and hilarious, this debut romantic comedy for the digital age is a pure delight, sure to appeal to fans of Tom Perrotta, Nick Hornby, and Stephen Fry."—Library Journal (starred review)
"A frothy rom-com in literary form...a broad and madcap love story...charming."
Kirkus Reviews
"A sort of Shakespearean comedy of errors but instead of the gods there are rogue AIs seeking to meddle in the affairs of humans. Great fun."
The Booksellers (UK)