Hachette Book Group’s privacy policy has been updated effective September 28, 2017. You can read the updated policy here. You can also email any questions to HBG-Privacy@hbgusa.com.

We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer here. By continuing to use the site without changing settings, you consent to our use of cookies.

The Iron Wyrm Affair

The Iron Wyrm Affair

Emma Bannon, forensic sorceress in the service of the Empire, has a mission: to protect Archibald Clare, a failed, unregistered mentath. His skills of deduction are legendary, and her own sorcery is not inconsiderable. It doesn’t help much that they barely tolerate each other, or that Bannon’s Shield, Mikal, might just be a traitor himself. Or that the conspiracy killing registered mentaths and sorcerers alike will just as likely kill them as seduce them into treachery toward their Queen.

In an alternate London where illogical magic has turned the Industrial Revolution on its head, Bannon and Clare now face hostility, treason, cannon fire, black sorcery, and the problem of reliably finding hansom cabs.

The game is afoot..

Bannon and Clare
The Iron Wyrm Affair
The Red Plague Affair
The Ripper Affair
The Damnation Affair (e-only)

For more from Lilith Saintcrow, check out:

Gallow and Ragged
Trailer Park Fae

Dante Valentine Novels
Working for the Devil
Dead Man Rising
Devil’s Right Hand
Saint City Sinners
To Hell and Back

Dante Valentine (omnibus)

Jill Kismet Novels
Night Shift
Hunter’s Prayer
Redemption Alley
Flesh Circus
Heaven’s Spite
Angel Town

Jill Kismet (omnibus)

A Romance of Arquitaine Novels
The Hedgewitch Queen
The Bandit King

Blood Call (coming August 2015)

Read More

Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy / Fiction / Fantasy / Historical

On Sale: August 7th 2012

Price: $2.99

Page Count: 320

ISBN-13: 9780316202589

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

" Saintcrow scores a hit with this terrific Steampunk series that rockets through a Britain-that-wasn't with magic and industrial mayhem with a firm nod to Holmes. Genius and a rocking good time."—New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs
"Saintcrow melds a complex magic system with a subtle but effective steampunk society, adds fully-fleshed and complicated characters, and delivers a clever and highly engaging mystery that kept me turning pages, fascinated to the very end."—Laura Anne Gilman
"Innovative world building, powerful steam punk, master storyteller at her best. Don't miss this one....She's fabulous. "—Christine Feehan
"Lilith Saintcrow spins a world of deadly magic, grand adventure, and fast-paced intrigue through the clattering streets of a maze-like mechanized Londonium. The Iron Wyrm Affair is a fantastic mix of action, steam, and mystery dredged in dark magic with a hint of romance. Loved it! Do not miss this wonderful addition to the steampunk genre."—Devon Monk
"Lilith Saintcrow's foray into steampunk plunges the reader into a
Victorian England rife with magic and menace, where clockwork horses pace the cobbled streets, dragons rule the ironworks, and it will take a sorceress' discipline and a logician's powers of deduction to unravel a bloody conspiracy."—Jacqueline Carey
"Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"This isn't just fantasy with cogs stuck on. A really good read"—SFX
"Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch."—Publishers Weekly
"Fast paced and full of plot twists, this is a lightweight summer read for fans of Gail Carriger and Meljean Brooks."—Booklist
"A fast and furious ride through an alternate Victorian London that occasionally stops for polite afternoon tea, just to let you catch your breath. Exciting, great characters and one of the best books I've read this year. Roll on the next instalment! "—thebookbag.co.uk
"A fast-paced blend of Victorian-era urban fantasy and steampunkish technology."—Shelf Awareness